[Review] Cry Wolf by Patricia Briggs

Synopsis: Anna never knew werewolves existed until the night she survived a violent attack…and became one herself. After three years at the bottom of the pack, she’d learned to keep her head down and never, ever trust dominant males. But Anna is that rarest kind of werewolf: an Omega. And one of the most powerful werewolves in the country will recognize her value as a pack member—and as his mate.

__________________________________________________________________________
Genre: Paranormal-Romance
Series: Alpha & Omega #1
Date of Publication: September 01, 2009
Cliffhanger: No
HEA/Happy End: Yes

Rating: 3,5 Stars ✶ ✶ ✶ ✶
__________________________________________________________________________

I am normally not a big fan of werewolf novelles, but this one was different than the ones I normally do despise.

Just wanted to show you my updates on this book, because I’m feeling cool ;P

page 20 – “I feel like I’m missing a whole book before this one. Or is this a spin-off and I need to read the other series first? Well, I will keep going.”
page 105 – “I’m getting more and more about the background, but now I’m trying to figure out what it means to be an Omega – Anna is as clueless as I am. I like her btw.”
page 125 – “Had to stop, my stomach demanded some food :/”
page 200 – “Finally an enemy :D”

Okay I will start at the beginning…

There is no beginning, because you will read a lot of stuff where you will feel like I did.

Is this a spin-off? Do I need to read the other series first?

The beginning requires of you to know Anna and Charles before the actual beginning. I didn’t know them before this book and I never read the Mercy Thompson series. So I had no idea who they are and what happened to them, but their conversations and thoughts implied that I should knew. What?

After some chapters I had collected some knowledge about the past but I still don’t really know what happened. Not exactly.

Well anyway, I said that this book was different than other werewolf books I read. It was. I normally do not like the alphas of werewolf books because they are too dominant and are all about power. And do not care a little bit about the feelings of their mates.

Charles was different. Charles actually cared about Anna and even though he is an alpha he’s not the alpha, he’s not the leader of the pack, just an enforcer and well, dominant without actually being dominant – at least not to Anna. He was quite nice and I liked the way he treated her, after everything that happened to her.

Anna is Charles’ mate, right from the beginning or maybe since before the beginning. I still don’t get that one.

She was saved by Charles from her psychotic former alpha and his pack who were abusing her – a lot. They forced her to be submissive, even tough she is an Omega. I liked how Anna came out of her shell page by page. You could see her change, but only because the others did not push her.

I liked the banter between Charles and Anna, but otherwise the book was kinda dull, because all they did was hiking through a frosty forest on the search for a rogue werewolf.
They did find it after two third of the book and they did find something else… or should I say someone?

Did I mention I still don’t know what is that makes an Omega special? At least not really. I know some part of it.

Even tough I said a lot of bad stuff about this book I ended up liking it and I will definitely buy book #2 and maybe – just maybe – I will read the Mercy Thompson series.

3.5 out of 5 stars

Buy it at:
Amazon DEAmazon COM — Amazon UK

One thought on “[Review] Cry Wolf by Patricia Briggs

Leave a comment <3

