[Review] Hotter Than Helltown by SM Reine

Book provided by NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

Synopsis: A killer is mutilating bodies in Los Angeles. Agent Cèsar Hawke is on the case, but the murderer is ahead of him–way ahead of him.
Wiping the memories of the dead so that the team’s necrocognitive can’t talk to them? Done. Preventing magical reconstruction of the crime scenes? Oh yeah. And the murders keep getting more brutal while Cèsar struggles to catch up.
The best way to heat up a cold case is to go to Helltown, where Los Angeles’s most powerful evil hides out, but even those demons are afraid of the murderer. Their fear adds one more question to the growing pile of unknowns:
What kind of bad guy is too hot for Helltown?

__________________________________________________________________________
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Series: Preternatural Affairs #3
Date of Publication: June 27, 2014
Cliffhanger: No
HEA/Happy End: Yes

Rating: 2 Stars ✶ ✶
__________________________________________________________________________

I read it, but I’m not really sure if I liked it.

I kind of have this problem with books written 100% out of a male perspective. It’s just harder to connect with the male character and it was even harder to connect with Cèsar.

He was kind of annoying, always complaining about everything and just whiney. I just couldn’t connect with him. I couldn’t connect with any of the characters. (Maybe I could have if I read the first two books?)
Also the book is supposed to be funny, but I guess it’s just not my kind of humor, because I was not amused, I was bored.

The only thing that was funny was the Game Of Thrones reference and when Cèsar and Fritz shared thoughts.

It got better at the end – after 75% – but I had to force myself to even get that far in the book.  I actually liked the ending, not because it was the end of the book. There was finally some action and I liked the “epilogue”.
But all in all I guess it’s just not my style.

But let me say one good thing about this book: You can read it without ever touching the first two ones. You can understand everything perfectly well.

But if you do decide to read this series, start with the first book because I’m sure there is a lot of stuff that you will still miss by not reading them.

The first book Witch Hunt is for free an amazon.

2 out of 5 stars.

 

>>Buy Hotter Than Helltown here:
Amazon DE | Amazon COM | Amazon UK

Leave a comment <3

