[Review] Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Synopsis: The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi pure bloods have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals–well, not so much.
Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures. Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway.
There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden. Unfortunately, she’s crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden.
But falling for Aiden isn’t her biggest problem–staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is. If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of suck.

__________________________________________________________________________
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Series: Covenant #1
Date of Publication: October 11, 2011
Cliffhanger: No
HEA/Happy End: No

Rating: 2,5 Stars ✶ ✶ ✶
__________________________________________________________________________

[Edit: the prequel “Daimon” and #3,5 “Elixir” are for free on Spencer Hill Press.]

Before I started to read this, I looked up some reviews on Goodreads and I found one that made me really worried. That one review said that the whole book was a bad copy of the Vampire Academy books and the person wasn’t wrong.

I will tell you some thing that are pretty similar / nearly the same:
First, the thing with the species. In VA we had Moroi and Dhampirs, in Half-Blood we have Pures and Halfs (those are the exact same except for the names).

Second, in both the Dhampirs / Halfs are there to protect and take care of the needs of the Moroi / Pure. And like in VA Halfs are considered below the pures.

Third, Rose left the Academy with Lissa, Alex with her mom blah blah blah. I could go on like this forever.

Also you could switch out the entire Half-Blood cast with the VA cast.

A few examples, meet:
Alex AKA Rose

Aiden AKA Dimitri

Seth AKA Adrian (without the drinking problem) and Lissa (because of the connection between Seth/Lissa and Alex/Rose)

Caleb AKA Mason

Lea AKA Mia

If I’m truly honest the basic structure is exactly like in a Vampire Academy book, but somewhere in the middle it thankfully got his little, own, pretty obvious twist with Alex being a Apollyon.

Even though I’m totally nagging right now, don’t you dare to think that I did not like this.

The main reason why this did not suck epically was Alex. I liked her character even though she did some pretty stupid things. Girl think before doing something! And also get a grip of your temper. LOL.

I kind of liked the boys Aiden and Seth, but I’m still not sure on which Team I am. Normally with JLA books I don’t need long to choose a team, but this time I’m like: Awww Aiden; awww Seth; damn Aiden why; what the heck Seth. So I will not be on Team Aiden nor Seth, I will be on Team Caleb (her best friend), even though I already know with whom Alex will end up, but still . . .

I can’t get over the fact that it’s so similar to VA and if you would ask me which series I like more I would probably choose . . .
I’m just really torn about this, even though I was totally hooked to the pages. I will need to read book two to settle my mind and to find out if it will get less VA-like.

So I will give Half-Blood 2,5 out of 5 stars . . . I guess. I’m not sure.

BTW this is the review on Goodreads I’ve been talking about: >>here<<

Buy it here:
Amazon DE
| Amazon UK | Amazon COM

5 thoughts on “[Review] Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. Shall I be happy I haven’t read VA? 😀
    I really liked your review although I was a little*cough* shocked.. 2.5 stars?? Whoa. If I give 2.5 stars there’s something REALLY wrong with the book…

    Like

    • Sorry, just saw your comment. VA was nice, but I don’t think you missed anything 😉
      If I hadn’t read VA it would have probably gotten 3,5 stars, but because of all the similarities… I rated the next one better. Review comes tomorrow 😉

      Like

Leave a comment <3

