Your bookyear in 30 question – 2014 edition

The following formular was presented at the blog of Martina from BOOKaholic and was created by both Martina and Nadine (Seitenansichten). It was a blanko formular, so whoever felt like answering the questions could do that. I’m one of those “whoever”s.


So here we go 🙂

General:
– Of course not all questions have to be answered, you can answer as few or as many as you like.
– For the first question for the book of the year please just one answer, in all other cathegories you can list multiple books if needed.
– You can answer as shortly or as lengthy as you like.
– Be careful when it comes to spoilers esp when referring to the end of the book.

General Questions

1. Book of the year – Which was THE book of the year for you? Even if it is hard, please just one answer.
Answer: This is really hard, but I think I pick “Night Unbound” by Dianne Duvall.

2. Flop of the year – Which book was the flop of the year for you?
Answer: Don’t get me wrong, I love Nalini Singh and her paranormal books, but her contemporary book “Rock Addiction” was just not my taste and my flop of the year.

3. Biggest positive surprise – For which book did you have little to average hopes but then it blew you off your feet ?
Answer: “Carrots” by Colleen Helme. It was a freebie on Amazon and those freebies are normally no good, but this was awesome. I even bought and read the following five books.

4. Biggest disappointment – For which book did you have high hopes and then it failed you?
Answer: Again I have to name Nalini Singh and her “Rock Addiction”.

5. Best Pageturner – Which book were you unable to put down?
Answer: [Edit: I kind of forgot to fill out this question. LOL. Again I name “Night Unbound” by Dianne Duvall”]

6. Favorite trilogy/ series – Which was your fav series in 2014? (At least one installment has to have been read this year.) And which sequel do you look forward for the most in 2015?
Answer: The Dark Elements series by Jennifer L. Armentrout and I’m really looking forward to the last installment “Every Last Breath” which will come out in July.

7. „Biggest tome“ – Which of your books was the longest page-wise? Did the pages flow by or did you have to fight?
Answer: For that question I had to look at my reading list of 2014 and it says there that my longest book was “Opposition” by Jennifer L. Armentrout. But that book does not count, because there is a short story had the end. So my real longest book is “Written in Red” by Anne Bishop with 513 pages and I really liked it, which reminds me I still haven’t posted the review of it. But I had to fight a little, some pages were just dull.

8. The most mistakes – Was there a book that had a particular abundance of logical or orthographic mistakes?
Answer: I’m torn between “Blood Type” by Melissa Luznicky Garrett and “Forbidden Blood” by Felicity Heaton – both were dnf – but I think I go with “Blood Type”.

9. Most interesting non-fiction – Non-fiction can be fascinating too. Which non-fiction book impressed you the most?
Answer: I can’t remember reading a non-fiction this year – at least not for “fun”. I read some for school, but that does not count.

Story

10. Worst book moment – Which was the worst moment in a book for you? Discovery of a betrayal? Death of a beloved Character? A heartbreaking split-up?
Answer: The ending of “Stone Cold Touch” by Jennifer L. Armentrout. I even guessed the ending right at the beginning of the book, but I never thought she would actually do that and NO, i won’t tell you what happened. (Here is my review)

11. Most disappointing ending – The book was great but the ending was just shit? Which ending did disappointed you the most?
Answer: I have no idea.

Characters

12. Favorite Hero – Which was your favorite (male) hero?
Answer: I will name a few of my favourites this year, can’t just choose one. Roth (“White Hot Kiss”, review), Zach (“Night Unbound”, review), Saxon (“Mine to Have”, review) and Tod (My Soul to Take”)

13. Favorite heroine – Which heroine did you like best this year?
Answer: Shelby (“Carrots”), Layla (“White Hot Kiss”), Lisette (“Night Unbound”), Kaylee (“My Soul to Take”)

14. Favorite Couple – Sometime the chemistry is just right between two characters. Which couple did you like best? Here counts the couple as a unit, an adorable hero can’t make up for his unworthy love interest.
Answer: Layla and Roth (“White Hot Kiss”), if they do not end up together in the last book of the Dark Elements series, I think I’m going to throw my Kindle at a wall.

15. Most annoying hero/ most annoying heroine – Which protagonist did annoy you the most? Who made you roll the eyes the most? Was there a particularly bad/ embarassing moment?
Answer: Perry (“Forged by Desire” by Bec McMaster) – just admit your damn feelings!

16. Most evil/ best villain – Who „tortured“ your heroes the worst?
Answer: The Lilin in “Stone Cold Touch” by Jennifer L. Armentrout. He made the main character Layla think that she did all the bad stuff and no, I won’t tell you who the Lilin is.

17. Favorite side character – Even characters that don’t play a large part can find a way into your heart. Which side-character did make the most impact on you?
Answer: I love Ramos. He is the hitman of the mafioso Joey for whom Shelby works for and he’s just awesome (“Carrots” by Colleen Helme)

Miscellaneous

18. Best kiss – Did you get really enthusiastic about a kiss, sighed with relief, get in the mood for kissing?
Answer: The best kiss was between Daemon and Katy in Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout. I just loved that her laptop blew up because of all the chemistry between them.

19. Best love scene – If it doesn’t stay at kissing level, which love scene did appeal to you the most?
Answer: Ashwini and Janvier’s first “real” sex scence (“Archangel’s Shadows” by Nalini Singh)

20. „Laughing attack“ – Which book made you laugh the most?
Answer: All books of the “Shelby Nichols Adventure”-series by Colleen Helme.

21. „Crying attack“ – Which book made you cry the most, or got you the closest to tears?
Answer: “With All my Soul” by Rachel Vincent is the last book in the Soul Screamer series and the few chapters before the ending were just really really sad – but brilliant at the same time.

22. Best/favorite setting – Your fav country/ city, a beatifully built fantasy world – which setting did impress you the most?
Answer: The world of the Dark Elements series. I loved the idea of gargoyles who protect the population.

23. „The big screen“ – Which book would you love to see turned into a movie?
Answer: “Obsidianby JLA. I would love a new, good alien movie.

Authors

24. Favorite author – Which author did you enjoy the most this year?
Answer: Jennifer L. Armentrout and Dianne Duvall.

25. Author discovery 2014 – Did you stumble over a new author of whom you want to read every last book now?
Answer: And again Jennifer L. Armentrout. I just noticed that I named her a lot already LOL. I found her through her book “Obsidian” which was for free on amazon.

Looks

26. Best Cover – Which cover did you like the best in 2013? (For this question you don’t have to have read the book. Any cover that impressed you in 2013 counts!)
Answer: “The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender” by Leslye Walton. I saw the cover of the book at the blog of Nyze from Everything Nyze and I really liked it. Never read the book though.

27. Worst Cover – Was there a cover that almost made you NOT read the book? Or a book you actually didnt pick up solely because of the cover? (Too ugly, too cruel, too tacky?) Was there a cover you felt was unfitting for the mood of the book or the story? One that spoilered too much?
Answer: I nearly hadn’t picked up “Obsidian” because I thought that the english cover was really …. let’s say boring. The german one isn’t better.

28. Nicest design in general – Which book impressed you the most because of the way it was manufactured, illustrated, special chapter layouts?
Answer: I only notice the layout if it’s crappy. So I don’t have a book for this question.

„Social Reading“

29. Group Reads – Was there a buddy read or a group read you liked best?
Answer: 😥 I have no group or buddy reads, anyone offering?

30. Best Tip – Was there a book suggestion you are particularly thankful for?
Answer: “White Hot Kiss” – so big thanks to Freya of Sound of a Voice and Nyze of Everything Nyze.

I just noticed that I basically named the same books over and over again, but… whatever 🙂

10 thoughts on “Your bookyear in 30 question – 2014 edition

  1. I am totally offering to be your book buddy. I would like to expand my collection… if you don’t mind. I took note of the books you’ve mentioned and I can’t wait to read them!

    Like

Leave a comment <3

