[Review] Pure by Jennifer L. Armentrout



Synopsis: There is need. And then there is Fate. Being destined to become some kind of supernatural electrical outlet isn’t exactly awesome–especially when Alexandria’s other half is everywhere she goes. Seth’s in her training room, outside her classes, and keeps showing up in her bedroom–so not cool. Their connection does have some benefits, like staving off her nightmares of the tragic showdown with her mother, but it has no effect on what Alex feels for the forbidden, pure-blooded Aiden. Or what he will do–and sacrifice–for her. When daimons infiltrate the Covenants and attack students, the gods send furies–lesser gods determined to eradicate any threat to the Covenants and to the gods, and that includes the Apollyon–and Alex. And if that and hordes of aether-sucking monsters didn’t blow bad enough, a mysterious threat seems willing to do anything to neutralize Seth, even if that means forcing Alex into servitude–or killing her. When the gods are involved, some decisions can never, ever be undone.
__________________________________________________________________________
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Series: Covenant #2
Date of Publication: April 03, 2012
Cliffhanger: No
HEA/Happy End: No

Rating: 3,5 Stars ✶ ✶ ✶ ✶
__________________________________________________________________________


After reading “Half-Blood”, the first book of the series, I had no high expectations for this one. But I really hoped it would distant itself from being a Vampire Academy rip-off and thankfully it did. (Here is my review of Half-Blood btw)

FYI I normally try to keep my reviews as spoilerfree as possible, but I have to make an exception for this one. I won’t spoil the big events though! Only character interaction stuff, LOL.

Still: SPOILERS AHEAD!

Pure starts after the events that took place in Half-Blood, meaning: after Alex was tortured and after she killed her mother.

In the beginning Alex is really struggeling. She is stressed out because of school and the constant workouts with either Aiden or Seth. Also she does have a lot of nightmares, so on top of the stress she is also sleep-deprived.
I need sleepLike in Half-Blood she does some pretty stupid things, but I like her. She is honest (mostly), not afraid of anything (*cough* Seth *cough*) and always with her heart in the game, but maybe she should think more before acting. Also someone is out to kill her or more like put her into servitude.

If you read my last review than you know that I’m not sure on which Team I am. Team Aiden or Team Seth. And if I’m honest I’m still not sure.

Aiden is the mature guy, who only wants the best for Alex. I did not like the stunt he pulled after Alex told him that she loved him, but I know why he did it. Alex is just blind and doesn’t see his reason.

And Seth is the fun guy, who wants Alex to have some fun. Also he keeps her company after some bad things happen. They even cuddle. I think he’s sweet, but I’m not sure his actions are for real. I think he will do something entirely stupid in the next book.

Also I did just change my mind. LOL I’m Team Seth. I could rewrite the part of not choosing a team, but I’m too lazy 😛

The ending was cool. Alex was just a badass while fighting and afterwards the scence between her and Seth was just . . . cute

I liked Pure more than Half-Blood, but there were still some things that I did not like.

For example the unnecessary death of . . .  someone. JLA just loves to kill her characters, but I really liked this person, so I’m kinda mad.
Or the constant spelling errors. She should have chosen a different editor for her Covenant-series (Half-Blood had spelling errors as well), because I noticed them and they were kind of annoying.

I give this book

3,5 out of 5 stars because I think that it still can get a lot better.

Buy it here:
Amazon DE | Amazon UK | Amazon COM

Leave a comment <3

