[Review] Existence by Abbi Glines

Synopsis: What happens when you’re stalked by Death? You fall in love with him, of course.
Pagan Moore doesn’t cheat Death, but instead, falls in love with him.
Seventeen year old Pagan Moore has seen souls her entire life. Once she realized the strangers she often saw walking through walls were not visible to anyone else, she started ignoring them. If she didn’t let them know she could see them, then they left her alone. Until she stepped out of her car the first day of school and saw an incredibly sexy guy lounging on a picnic table, watching her with an amused smirk on his face. Problem is, she knows he’s dead.
Not only does he not go away when she ignores him, but he does something none of the others have ever done. He speaks. Pagan is fascinated by the soul. What she doesn’t realize is that her appointed time to die is drawing near and the wickedly beautiful soul she is falling in love with is not a soul at all.
He is Death and he’s about to break all the rules.

__________________________________________________________________________
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal
Series: Existence #1
Date of Publication: December 13th, 2011
Cliffhanger: No
HEA/Happy End: Partly

Rating: 3,5 Stars ✶ ✶ ✶ ✶
__________________________________________________________________________

Existence isn’t the first book by Abbi Glines that I read. I already read the first four books of her Too Far series, but I didn’t read that that series entirely volunteering. A friend made me. I’m still not sure how I feel about the series.

But I was positively surprised that I did like Existence. It had a few points that weren’t that good, but I overall liked it and had a lot of fun reading it.

The main reason why I liked this was the main character Pagan. She was quite likable and funny, also the story is from her POV. The only thing I did not like about her is that she is together with Leif, but is secretly obviously in love with Dank.

I would never love Leif that way. Dank Walker had damaged my heart and claimed it in the process. ~ page 79

Dank or should I call him Death was this bad boy that makes out with the queen of the school at the one second and comes to rescue you in the next. He was really protective about Pagan and not amused over the fact that she’s with Leif.  He’s also observing.

No one ever paid enough attention to me before to actually be able to describe my facial expression when I was bothered. It was oddly endearing. ~ page 28

Want to know a fun, totally moot fact? His name Dank is the german word for Thank / Gratitude.

Now on to the boy Pagan is actually together with… Leif. He is the school quarterback and yes, you guessed it, popular. But no one really knows him. He’s dyslexic and adopted and actually really sweet. Too sweet to be true. I’m sure he isn’t for real. Something’s off about him.

Then there were the side characters. I loved them. They were all quite funny, I especially loved Wyatt. He’s just hilarious.

Okay, I was entertained a lot by it, but what is up with his names? Pagan? Dank? Leif? I’m sorry if those are you’re names, but seriously? How do you come up with his names?

Oh also it was sometimes a little slow-paced. And the synopsis totally spoiled the whole story, so if you read the synopsis you overall know already what is going to happen.

3,5 out of 5 stars

9 thoughts on “[Review] Existence by Abbi Glines

Leave a comment <3

