[Review] Welcome to Sugartown by Carmen Jenner

Synopsis: Ana Belle never wanted anything more than to hang up her apron, jump on her Vespa and ride off into the sunset, leaving Sugartown in the dust.
Elijah Cade never wanted anything more than a hot meal, a side of hot arse and a soft place to lay his head at night where he could forget about his past.
But you know what they say about wanting: you always want what you can’t have.
Nineteen year-old virgin Ana is about to discover that’s not quite true because a six foot three, hotter than hell, tattooed, Aussie sex god just rode into town. He’s had a taste of her pie and he wants more– no really, Ana bakes pies for a living, get your mind out of the gutter.
She’d be willing to hand over everything tied up in a big red bow, there’s just one problem; Elijah has secrets dirtier than last week’s underwear. Secrets that won’t just break Ana’s heart, but put her life at risk, too. When those secrets come to light, their relationship is pushed to breaking point.
Add to that a psychotic nympho best friend, an overbearing father, a cuter than humanly possible kid brother, a wanton womanizing cousin, the ex from hell, and more pies than you could poke a … err … stick … at.
And you thought small towns were boring.

__________________________________________________________________________
Genre: New Adult
Series: Sugartown #1
Date of Publication: November 1st, 2013
Cliffhanger: No
HEA/Happy End: Yes

Rating: 5 Stars ✶ ✶ ✶ ✶ ✶
__________________________________________________________________________

You probably noticed that I usually make a wide berth around New Adult books. A wiiiiiiiiiiiide berth. Because I normally do NOT like them. I in all honesty think it’s the one genre the world could live without.

BUT! Even though I’m normally totally against NA and I would rather pick up a dictionary and read that, something made me pick up Welcome to Sugartown and I did not regret it. I LOVED it. Yes, I’m going to use capital letters in this review – a lot of those. And I apologize in advance. No, wait, I already did use them, so I can’t apologize in advance. Nevermind. LOL. Let’s move on, before I totally get off topic.

The story had it all. Funny moments, like

“Come on, Ana, would it really kill you to go out with Mr I’m So Freaking Hot Even My Mother Would Sell Her Soul to Get a Piece Of This? Would it kill you to have a little fun for once?” ~ page 37

but also some pretty dark moments. No, let me rephrase that a lot of dark moments. It deals with hard themes like rape, murder, prison, gangs, violence in general and if you can’t deal with it, don’t read this book. Seriously, don’t.

I loved the characters and I could totally connect with them.

Ana was this cute, but sassy woman, who everyone thinks is a slut, but she’s secretly still a virgin and she runs the business of a cake shop since she was little. She doesn’t like her stepmother, she calls her “the dragon”, which was pretty accurate. I didn’t like the dragon as well. Ana is also lovely, loyal and doesn’t take BS from anybody, especially not from Elijah. She has to deal with some real bad stuff, which I won’t elaborate, but thankfully she has the help of Elijah and Holly (her best friend, LOVED her!) to get through it.

Elijah… I’m not sure I personally would want as a boyfriend, but he was perfect for Ana. He did screw up a lot (this is NA, so duh), has a shitty past and a pretty bad additude sometimes. He owns a motorcycle and starts to work in the mechanic shop of Ana’s father, which is conveniently across from Ana’s shop. That’s the way they met and even though he does some bad stuff, he always looks out for Ana. He would do anything for her. He actually did everything for her. Even went to prison for her, but I won’t tell you why.

The chapters were written in an alternation between Ana’s POV and Elijah’s, which I personally liked a lot. Also the book was pretty fast-paced and not at all boring.

Furthermore it was sooooooooo intense in general. The little side story with Holly was pretty nice too. Her story will be told in book 2, but I’m not sure I’m going to read it. Because even though I LOVED this one, I can only tolerate so much NA in one month. So book 2 probably has to wait till I’m going to read it.

By the way Welcome to Sugartown is for free on amazon, so if you want to give this one a try, go ahead.

Leave a comment <3

