Teaser Tuesday #23| First Paragraph Tuesday Intros #11

I decided to combine the Teaser Tuesday, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading, with the First Chapter ~ First Paragraph Tuesday Intros, hosted by Bibliophile By the Sea.


Today I decided to feature two books.

Book #1: Shield Of Winter by Nalini Singh

Opening (I decided to skip the prologue):

There was nothing left of the men he’d been.
Vasic stared through the glass wall in front of him as the computric gauntlet biologically fused to his left forearm hummed near silently in the diagnostic med he’d initiated. Sleek black, the new invention remained relatively unstable, despite the constant and ongoing refinement by the medics and techs, but Vasic wasn’t concernt about his life.
He hadn’t been concerned about anything for a long time.

Teaser from 76%/page 327:

Vasic grabbed a chair and sat down. He had no desire to eat, but he consumed nutrition bar after nutrition bar with methodical precision – he’d be useless to Ivy otherwise.

 

Book #2: First Grave on the Right by Darynda Jones
(got this as a gift from Kim @BookWormBookReviews. Thanks, Kim. Check her blog out!)

Opening:

I’d been having the same dream for the past month – the one where a dark stranger materialized out of smoke and shadows to play doctor with me. I was starting to wonder if repetitive exposure to nightly halluctionations resulting in earth-shattering climaxes could have any long-term side effects. Death via extreme pleasure was a serious concern. The prospect led to the following dilemma: Do I seek help or buy drinks all around?

Teaser from page 34:

He was now eyeing me as if I was drooling and cross-eyed. I swiped the swollen side of my mouth just in case.

I’m already loving First Grave on The Right and I’ve only read the same two teasers you did.

What are you reading and loving this Tuesday? Leave your link in the comment section below.

5 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday #23| First Paragraph Tuesday Intros #11

  1. Hey Emalie! Thanks for mentioning my blog! I love your teasers! I wonder what’s wrong with Vasic, that he doesn’t care about anything? Sounds like something really bad has happened to him in the past. The teaser for First Grave makes me want to read it all over again! Here’s my TT. Happy reading!

    Like

    • Hi Kim, you’re welcome 🙂 Yes, some really bad stuff happened to him, my poor little Vasic.
      If you want to read it again, just do it 😀 I’m halfway through.

      Like

  2. I have heard great things about Nalini Singh’s writing, and I really like that intro.

    I’m not familiar with First Grave on the Right by Darynda Jones, but the intro has me curious.

    I hope you enjoy both books!

    Like

Leave a comment <3

