[Review] First Grave On The Right by Darynda Jones

I’m back, guys, I’m writing reviews again… kind of. Not really. LOL.

Synopsis: This whole grim reaper thing should have come with a manual.
Or a diagram of some kind.
A flow chart would have been nice.

Charley Davidson is a part-time private investigator and full-time grim reaper. Meaning, she sees dead people. Really. And it’s her job to convince them to “go into the light.” But when these very dead people have died under less than ideal circumstances (like murder), sometimes they want Charley to bring the bad guys to justice. Complicating matters are the intensely hot dreams she’s been having about an entity who has been following her all her life…and it turns out he might not be dead after all. In fact, he might be something else entirely. But what does he want with Charley? And why can’t she seem to resist him? And what does she have to lose by giving in?

__________________________________________________________________________
Genre: Paranormal (Romance)
Series: Charley Davidson #1
Date of Publication: February 01st, 2011
Cliffhanger: Yes
HEA/Happy End: No

Rating: 4,5 Stars ✶ ✶ ✶ ✶
__________________________________________________________________________

Hell, I loved this. I’m so glad I won this.

The main reason I loved this was Charley. Charley has exactly my kind of humor and I loved her attitude. It made me laugh out aloud so often, I even got the “What-the-hell-is-wrong-with-you”-look from my mother. I think if I had laughed one time too much, she would have had me commited. LOL.

When Gemma was into science, I was into skipping. When Gemma was into foreign languages, I was into the hot Italian guy down the street.

You just have to love Charley and her comments. Loved her relationship with her father and her uncle and I really hope she gets to have a relationship with her sister again.

What I also liked was the first sentence of every chapter. That sentence was always a funny paragraph like for example

Never knock on death’s door. Ring the doorbell and then run. He totally hates that. ~ t-shirt

Sadly, you can’t buy this shirt for real. I would so buy it.

Also it was written very well and did I mention funny?

Reese was cool, too. He’s totally protective of Charley and he has a BIG secret, which I kind of guessed. I’m just awesome. LOL.

The only thing I thought was unnecessary was the sex scene between Charley and Reese (for now, it would have fitted better into the next book).

It just felt out of place and like Miss Jones had to fill some more papers, but ran out of ideas. So that’s the reason I’m not giving the book the full 5 stars.

Leave a comment <3

