[Review] Night Unbound by Dianne Duvall (EN-version)

Blurb: For centuries, Lisette d’Alençon has been a warrior against the dark. She fights alongside her brothers and comrades. But when the dreams start coming, she can’t bear to confess them to the Immortal Guardians’ command. Dreams of a dark-haired man with soft eyes and brutal wounds, a man her heart aches for–and a man she knows has been declared a traitor.
Zach is an exile, a loner. He won’t defend himself against false accusations or grovel to those who should have faith in him. But he’ll damn sure defend the woman who kept him sane against a plague of super-vamps that seems to have appeared from nowhere. The Guardians will blame him, and that will make Lisette suspect, too. With life, death and eternity on the line, who can they really trust?

__________________________________________________________________________
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Series: Immortal Guardians #5
Date of Publication: September 02nd, 2014
Cliffhanger: No
HEA/Happy End: Yes

Bewertung: 5 Sterne ✶ ✶ ✶ ✶ ✶
__________________________________________________________________________

After reading Night Unbound again – don’t ask me how often I already read it, I stopped counting – well, anyway… after reading it again, I decided to write another review in english.

Because back when I published the particular review to this book I was still writing in german, but now I wanted to write one in english. (Here’s my german review for those of you out there who are able to understand it 😉 or just want to know what german looks/reads like)

So here it is (I used the same GIFs like in the original review, just changed the content):

I can’t tell you how much I love this book. I’m just

This book came out last September and still it amazes me. I just love it.

Especially Zach. Since the first time we got to know Zach, I was intrigued. Who is this strange, quiet, winged man and what is his role in this series? Those were the questions I were left with after reading Darkness Rising (link to GR) and I really, really hope we would see him again in Night Unbound and then I found out that Night Unbound is indeed about HIM.

I adore Zach. In the beginning he is like a lost puppy. Not used to touch, affection and always expects the worst to happen.

“What’s wrong?” [Lisette] asked, embarrassed by how breathless she sounded.
“You didn’t hit me.”
She stared up at him. “I’m sorry, what?”
“You didn’t hit me,” [Zach] said, and actually sounded angry. ~9%

But Lisette opens his eyes and for her sake he makes peace with Seth. The interaction between these two was so sweet. I was totally fangirling over Seth and Zach.

And we finally get to know the BIG secret regarding Seth and Zach!

No, we still don’t find out what they actually are. We only got one little fact at the end of the book that doesn’t tell us anything. It only told us what they are NOT. And they won’t tell Lisette the truth. The explanation why not even made sense, dammit! And Lisette was totally okay with them not telling her. I wouldn’t have been. I would have been like a little child asking them every five minutes: “Want to tell me know what you are?” *5 min later* “What about now? Want to tell me now?”

But I have a theory, which I won’t voice in the fear I might be wrong. That would be

I wanna know the secret!

Now I mentioned Lisette a lot already. She is Zach’s love interest, french, telepathic and totally awesome. Because come on, she knows how to operate all the cool weapons and she isn’t afraid to start something with Zach even though she knows he’s on Seth’ bad list.

And she’s funny.

His [Ethan’] face fell. “Ah, hell. You mean this wasn’t a butt call?”
“Booty call, Ethan. I believe the term is booty call. Honestly, I’m a hundred and thirty years older then you and from France. How can I be more familiar with American slang than you are? You were born here.” ~ 11%

She is my favourite female in this series and I love that she ends up with Zach. I hope to see those two in the next books a lot.

Now you know that I’m in love them, but I’m kinda in love with ALL the black sheeps of this series, meaning especially Zach – and Bastian.

Bastian is the hero of book #3 and I’m so glad we still get to see him often. I liked him since Darkness Dawns (book #1) where he was actually the villain.

You know how author’s take the bad guy give him a book and then make him good? Well, Bastian’s kind of in a grey area, because he isn’t really bad, but he isn’t good either. He’s just Bastian. And I love Miss Duvall for the fact that she did not change his personality, that he is still the same smartass as he was in book #1.

Bastian nodded to Ethan, then stared down at Zach. After a few moments, he looked around.
“Where’s the shovel?”
Ethan coughed to cover a laugh.
“I didn’t kill him!” Lisette nearly shouted.
Bastian shifted his gaze to Ethan.
Ethan held up his hands. “Don’t look at me. I didn’t kill him.”
“He isn’t dead,” Lisette snapped. “And I’m not into rough sex!”
Bastian stared at her. “Ooookay.”
She frowned. “Isn’t that whay you thought had happened? That I killed him during sex?”
“No. I just assumed he had pissed you off”
“Oh.” Her face heated with a blush.
Bastian’s lips twitched. ~ 12%

Also we get to see all our other favourite characters again. That’s one reason why I love Miss Duvall’s books. She makes them all look like a big, funny family I would like to be a part of. We even get to see Sheldon again (so cute!) and he shows a new side of him. I hope he get’s a side story (or a novella), because I would like to know his story.

Did I mention that these books are always funny? I had a lot of laugh-out-loud moments. It’s funny, packed with action and the sex scenes are nice, too. What do you want more?

So I will now stop at this point, otherwise I will name every person and event from the book and I don’t want to spoil the whole book.

So if you want to give this series a try, I would recommened to start with Darkness Dawns (Link to GR). Not sure that you couldn’t just read them out-of-order, but I think it takes a lot of fun out of it.

Now I just have to wait till August. Does anyone has a time machine and want to zap ahead in time and get me the book? No? That’s sad.

2 thoughts on “[Review] Night Unbound by Dianne Duvall (EN-version)

Leave a comment <3

