[Review] Need Me by Cynthia Eden

Synopsis: The cops think that Julianna Smith is a murderer. No one will listen when Julianna claims she’s innocent, and as the suspicions mount against her, only Julianna knows the truth…a killer is hunting her. Somewhere in the darkness, a stalker is closing in and preparing to deliver a final justice that she can’t escape.

Devlin Shade isn’t a man who trusts easily, and when Julianna Smith walks into VJS Protection, he’s well aware of her reputation—the sexy blond could be a cold-blooded murderer. Only when he looks at her, cold is the last thing that Devlin feels. There’s an instant attraction between them—hot, fierce, primal. And he agrees to take her case. He’ll be her bodyguard. He’ll keep her safe from the enemy hunting her, and he’ll also find out the truth about the mysterious Julianna. If she is a killer, he’ll turn her over to the cops himself.

Julianna knows that she is walking a dangerous line with Devlin. She never expected to want him so much, and as they grow closer, she realizes that he’s working to uncover her secrets. But the secrets that she carries are worth killing for…and she can’t let anyone discover the truth, not even Devlin.

Soon the thin line between right and wrong is blurred. For Devlin, the case becomes personal, and all that matters is Julianna—keeping her safe and stopping the stalker who is on her trail. As he slides deeper into Julianna’s dangerous world, Devlin’s own darkness rises up. He’s played the good guy for so long, but now his mask is falling away. He isn’t controlled, he isn’t safe, and when Julianna is threatened, he will cross any line to keep her safe.

__________________________________________________________________________
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Series: Dark Obsession #3
Date of Publication: February 22nd, 2015
Cliffhanger: No
HEA/Happy End: Yes

Rating: 3,5 Stars ✶ ✶ ✶ ✶
__________________________________________________________________________

Book provided by NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.

Here is another book by Cynthia Eden that I requested, was accepted and read. I know I really should stop requesting them but I just can’t. I can’t, so… sorry, for always spamming you with reviews about her books. Without further ado, let’s start.

I read this book in one sitting, it was only 195 pages (according to Goodreads) short, so it was a quick read for me. The pages flew by and when I hit the end I was like: What? I’m already through? No way.

This as well as the others in the Obsession series can be read as stand-alones, but I recommened starting in the beginning. Why? Because you will probably end up being obsessed (haha) with Ethan as much as I am and his story runs in the background through all three books. So do yourself a favour and start in the beginning 😉

As much as I love Ethan – I really do – this story isn’t really about him, sadly. I do hope he gets his own book with Carly though. He needs to.

Anyway, this romance is about Devlin and Julianna.

Julianna was accused of the murder on her own (abusive) husband in the former book, but she was let free, because the judge was dirty. Now she is trying to find out who to blame for her arrest, but a Cynthia Eden book wouldn’t be one if there wouldn’t be any more murders. The murderer that killed Julianna’s husband is still running free and is having some fun. Meaning, he/she is stalking Julianna and some more stuff. So Julianna goes to Devlin Shade to get some protection.

Because Devlin owns VJS Protection with his buddies. Just FYI the name VJS just stands for the first letter of the last name of each owner (Valentine, Jenson & Shade). Devlin is the computer-guy of the firm. I liked him and his protective nature.

AND he doesn’t get hurt in the end. Because that is one thing that really bucks me when I read a Cynthia Eden book. All her heroes get shot, run over, stabbed… let’s just say wounded in the end of every book. Not this time. He doesn’t get hurt.

She does. [EDIT: Her sister does. Sorry]

I had hope! But no. Again someone got hurt. Why?! Stop doing that. It’s just no fun anymore. Because it’s always the same.
Why can’t they both be without damage driving of into the sunset?! AHHHHH!!

*take a deep breath*

Even though someone get’s shot in the end – again – and I knew again who the perp was (just made sense to me that it was that person) I still liked this book. It’s fun to read and let’s be honest for a second I just wanted to be entertained and the book did that for me.

Check out my previous reviews:

Watch Me (Dark Obsession #1)
Want Me (Dark Obsession #2)

Leave a comment <3

