[Review] Under The Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

WORLDS KEPT THEM APART.

DESTINY BROUGHT THEM TOGETHER.

Aria has lived her whole life in the protected dome of Reverie. Her entire world confined to its spaces, she’s never thought to dream of what lies beyond its doors. So when her mother goes missing, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland long enough to find her are slim.

Then Aria meets an outsider named Perry. He’s searching for someone too. He’s also wild – a savage – but might be her best hope at staying alive.

If they can survive, they are each other’s best hope for finding answers.

__________________________________________________________________________
Genre: YA, Dystopian
Series: Under The Never Sky #1
Date of Publication: February 07th, 2012
Cliffhanger: Yes
HEA/Happy End: No

Rating: 1 Star ✶
__________________________________________________________________________

Okay, let me just say it right away. I did NOT enjoy reading this.

For a lot of reasons that I will kind of elaborate in the following text.

First, I read through the whole book and I still don’t know how Aria’s part of the world works. They (Aria’s people, I really don’t know what they are called) visit realms through their smarteyes (which are reminding me of the google glass things), but do they completely live in those realms or do they interact like normal people, too. They did after Aria went outside, but do they do that under normal circumstances, too?

Till 20% I was totally like: What, I don’t get it – at all. What is happening? Then I started to grasped some small things, but the actual world building never got clear for me. And it did have potential.

Second, I did – for most of the book – NOT like Aria nor Perry. I’m sorry. Aria was just this weak, totally dependent and whiney person. She got better in the last 15% of the books, but still…

And Perry. I liked him more than Aria, but I’m not really into his character either.

And then their is the thing with the relationship between Aria and Perry. It was totally okay for me that they didn’t trust and kind of disliked each other in the beginning. But I never really understood the reason for them to suddenly have romantical feelings towards the other.

They were suddenly kissing and then they were having sex, just out of the blue. I was like no way! What just happened?

Then there are the secondary characters. I liked Roar and that’s the truth (I swear!), but I didn’t get the necessarity for Cinder. I get that he save Aria and Perry on one occasion (kind of), but he actually wasn’t that required for the story. At least I felt that way.

The POV was dual, from Aria and Perry and I personally like Perry’s POV more (due to above reasons).

And because I hate writing bad reviews – because I think everyone should make up their own opinion, find out if a book is worth it – I will stop right here.

The last thing I would like to say is this: Please, never again and no, I will NOT read the second one.

Also if you want to you can check out my updates to this book >>here<<.

6 thoughts on “[Review] Under The Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

Leave a comment <3

