[Review] The Selection by Kiera Cass

~ The Selection by Kiera Cass ~

Genre: YA, Romance, Dystopian

Pub Date: April 24th, 2015

Series: The Selection #1

Source: NetGalley

Synopsis: For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself–and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

~~ My Review ~~

I don’t know what I expected from this book, but definitely not this. And I totally mean that in a good way, because I quite liked how it turned out to be. Hell, I didn’t liked it, I LOVED it.

I have to confess that before I started this, I was sure I would kind of not like this, because I’m always the one person on earth that doesn’t like a book that is currently all the hype. And I read one review that said this was like the Hunger Games (not a big fan of that particular series, sorry) and casting show of American Idol, just smashed together, so I was kind of wary of this.

But maybe you already gathered it from my intro sentences, I was totally hooked to this and I’m completely happy that I pushed the requested button on NetGalley.

The two main reasons I loved this was 1) the writing style and 2) America Singer.

Let me talk really quickly about the writing style. It drew me in with the first sentence and it kept me glued to the pages. I read through the book in one sitting (if you don’t count sleep in the middle).

Now on to my other reason: America Singer. I’m totally and utterly in love with this girl. She’s pretty forward with her feelings, tells mostly the truth even if it might come to bite her in the butt and she’s genuine. I could connect with her from the very first page and if you know me than you know I liked a book if there is some sort of connection between me and the main character. Also she’s friendly toward all the other contestants and really funny. She just rocks, okay?

But a contest wouldn’t be a contest without an evil nemesis: Celeste. I hope she has to go home rather sooner than later, because I CAN’T stand her, what makes her the perfect villian. You wil get why I don’t like her if you read the book, trust me, you won’t like her either.

Then there is Prince Maxon, who everyone is fighting for. Can I say that he is quite adorable and nothing like I pictured him? He really is. He’s sweet and really takes this whole Selection thing serious.

Also there was this little thing with the numbers I didn’t quite get at first, but after 10% it became clear what they meant.

The only thing I’m not really a fan of is this beginning triangle between America, Maxon and a guy of America’s past, but if she get’s to stay with Maxon in the end then I won’t nag. I’m totally Team Maxon if you must know 😉

So here I will end this review, because I’m still kind of awed by this and completely at a loss of words. Now I just have to get my fingers onto the next book in series: The Elite. Preferably now.

By the way, the covers of this series? Gorgeous.

Rating: 4,75 stars (it’s a new favourite of mine)

One thought on “[Review] The Selection by Kiera Cass

  1. I have heard a lot of brilliant things about this series and I do have it on my TBR because I want to be reading it at some point! I love the idea of all the girls in this one and I like knowing that the plot is going to be engaging the whole way through. Glad you loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment <3

