“Healthy” Read-A-Thon Snacks

My favourite “healthy” snacks

I’m one of those people that snack sometimes while reading and I always snack the bad stuff, like chips, cookies or wine gum.

So I thought why not do it different this read-a-thon and try something “healthy”.

All recipes are easy to make and don’t take much time.

1. Banana-Oat Cookies

The original recipe is healthy, my version is only kinda. I found this recipe like a year back. It’s by Cassey Ho from blogilates and you can watch the video here.

They might not look so yummy, but I promise they taste good, at least I think so.

For the original recipe you will only need:

  •  1 banana
  • 1 cup of oats

My version also includes:

  • Chocolate drops (you can also use raisins or craisins instead)
  • 1/2 tbsp honey
  • a lot of cinnamon

Mush all together, made little ball on a plate and then pop them into the microwave for about a minute at 300~600°Celsius (570~1100°Fahrenheit). Let them cold a bit.

2. Fruit salat

fruit salatBasically put any fruit you have at home in it. Chop it up and put it in a bowl or on a plate. Optional: drizzle some honey on it for extra sweetness.

In my bowl on the right I had pear, apple, banana and rapsberries.

3. Avocado Sandwich

You will need:

  • 1/2 avocado
  • 2 slices of toast (I use whole-grain toast)
  • salt & pepper

Put the toast into the toaster, it should be brown when it comes out, but not burned. Spread the avocado onto your toasts, put salt and pepper onto it and voilà, there you have it.

Just FYI, This can be a breakfast, too.

4. Microwave Mug cake

You will need:

  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 banana (no wasting food, so just eat the other half ;))
  • 1/2 cup of oats
  • cinnamon

Stir it all together in a mug, cup or bowl that you can use in the microwave. Put it in for about 2 minutes at 300°Celsius (570°Fahrenheit). Don’t leave it in too long, otherwise it will taste like rubber (not joking here). Flip it onto a plate, drizzle honey on your cake and enjoy 🙂

 So that was it. If you try out one of the recipes, let me know if you liked it.

 

2 thoughts on ““Healthy” Read-A-Thon Snacks

Leave a comment <3

