[Review] The Last True Vampire by Kate Baxter

~ The Last True Vampire by Kate Baxter ~

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Pub Date: June 2nd, 2015

Publisher: St. Martin’s Paperbacks

Series: True Vampire #1

Source: NetGalley

Synopsis:

As Michael’s eyes lit on a female not twenty feet away, he knew without a doubt that it was her blood that called to him and her scent that had awakened him.This female had tethered his soul and returned it to him.

Soul Survivor

He is the last of his race. The one true king of the vampires. Michael Aristov roams the nightclubs of L.A. after dark, haunted by his past and driven by his hunger. The last of the Ancient Ones, he alone has survived the destruction of his race at the hands of the slayers. Now he is forced to hunt and feed like a common vampire, a creature of lust. Nothing in this world can fulfill his needs…until he meets a woman who’s everything he’s ever wanted. And more.

Sweet Salvation

Her name is Claire Thompson. Her blood is so sweet, so intoxicating—the smell alone draws Michael to her like a moth to the flame. Sly, sexy, and seductive, Claire seems to be the only mortal who can satisfy his craving and seal his fate…forever. Can she be trusted? From their very first kiss, the last true vampire sweeps Claire into a world in which darkness rules desire—and where falling in love is the greatest danger of all…

~~ My Review ~~

~ DNF at 70%

Please note: Even though I didn’t like it, it doesn’t mean you won’t like it.

I requested this book on NetGalley, because I was on the search for a good vampire book and the cover and synopsis were quite nice, BUT this wasn’t it for me. I didn’t even bother to finish it, I’m even surprised I got as far as I did.

It was a struggle to even read a few pages in one sitting, because I really did not enjoy this. I’m sorry about that, but that was just the way it was.The only thing I really liked about this book is the cover, which is quite sad.

I will tell you some of my reasons for not liking it, but be aware that there will be some spoilers from here on.

My main reason is that I really didn’t like the main characters. Mikhail was super arrogant and a total control-freak and at the same time whiny. He was not the least likeable.

“I can’t withhold myself any longer. I won’t. Give yourself to me, Claire. Submit.”

Claire was a weak heroine, she carved to everything Mikhail wanted. In the one second she was like “No, I hate him. He bit me and I’m afraid of him” and in the next she is totally like “yes, let’s have sex, I’m all yours and only yours.”

Those two very not the least likeable. Also I didn’t feel any connection or chemistry between them. Nope, not even a little bit.

The other reason was the story itself…. Let me give you some examples.

Mikhail kidnaps Claire. I, for my part, would have freaked out, because I was kidnapped and I figured out that vampires are real. But no, Claire and Mikhail have a little heart to heart and have sex with him stealing her blood. I’m going to blame the stockholm syndrome here. There isn’t any other explanation for Claire’s behaviour.

Then Claire gets pregnant… ok, what?!

facepalm

The third thing that really bugged me, throughout the whole 70% I read, were the sex scenes. They were just… I don’t know…I guess over the top or weird. I don’t really know. They just bugged me.

I think this book ruined the vampire genre for me… at least for a little while.

sorry

2 thoughts on “[Review] The Last True Vampire by Kate Baxter

Leave a comment <3

