[Review] Beckon Me by Cindy Thomas

~ Beckon Me by Cindy Thomas ~

(Beckoner #1)
Genre: Paranormal, Romance, New Adult
Date Of Publication: April 13th 2015 by Cindy Thomas
Source: Gift from the Author

                        9a718-goodreads

Synopsis:

Everything nineteen-year-old Karina Mitchell knows about death changes the instant that she and her best friend, Rainey, are shot. For one, souls don’t die. They cross over. Only, Rainey’s soul hasn’t, and her ghost is hell bent on haunting Karina.

When Karina begins her sophomore year of college and moves into the apartment that she was supposed to share with Rainey, she learns a few shocking truths from her mysterious and gorgeous blue-eyed neighbor, Eli.

One: Karina has been chosen to become a Beckoner—an immortal conduit of the dead who helps safely guide souls to the other side.

Two: She’s the reason that Rainey’s soul can’t cross over—Rainey followed her back from death and missed her window to be at peace.

Three: Eli is hot. As in swoon-worthy, to-die-for, will-make-you-forget-yourself hot. And it turns out, Eli is a Beckoner, too.

Despite her attraction to Eli, the decision to become a Beckoner isn’t an easy one—it would mean giving up her own mortality … her own soul. But if she doesn’t, her best friend will be left to suffer an eternity at the hands of the evil Ceptors, dark creatures that feed on the souls left behind. After all, it’s her fault Rainey is haunting her.

Time is running out, and Karina needs to decide: Are love and loyalty worth sacrificing her soul

~ My Review ~

I got this book from the author in exchange for my honest opinion.

First off: thank you, Miss Thomas, for gifting me this book.

It reminded me of the books by Jennifer L. Armentrout and the soul screamer series by Rachel Vincent. It made me feel the same like I always do when I read something of those two authors.

I read the synopsis of Beckon Me and I was immediately intrigued and knew I would at least like this. But I loved this.

Karina, our main character, was really down to earth and just so normal, you couldn’t do anything else than like her. She is quite funny and strong, but also lets down her guard on occasions, which I liked, because I’m kind of tired of all the strong, kick-ass females that are currently overflowing the market. I’m not saying that Karina isn’t strong, just that she’s not always strong.

In the beginning of the story she is struggling to get her life back after a shooting where her best and only friend died. She keeps seeing her ghost, but thinks it’s a hallucination. Till Eli asked her how long she was already haunted. Also she has to make a tough choice regarding her life and I’m not sure how I would have chosen, because both sides of the deal had their advantages and disadvantages. She makes her choice in the end and I liked that, because it didn’t felt like one of those rushed decisions heroines in other books do and then later regret.

He grinned. “I know a lot more about you than you think I do.”
“Yeah, that only sounds a little stalkerish,” I teased, still trying to catch my breath.

Moving on to Eli, Karina’s mentor, neighbour and something more.

Omg, Eli. I loved that guy. He was funny, way too arrogant (that’s a good thing 😉 ) and really cared for Karina, even though he was always switching between hot and cold when it came to her. If I had to compare him to one of the guys from the two authors I mentioned previous, I would compare him to JLA’s Roth – just because they both have kind of an alike attitude.

“Take my picture.”
My eyes flew up to his face. “What? No way.”
“Yes way. I’m amazingly photogenic. And I’m willing to take my clothes off if that’s what it takes.” He winked at me […]”

Then there is Gabby. She was a fun side character and a good friend to Karina.

The story and the character development was so much fun to read. I would practically beg right now to get the second book, because I can’t wait to see how Karina’s and Eli’s story will go on.

If you like the writing style of Jennifer L. Armentrout and/or the Soul screamer series by Rachel Vincent give Beckon Me a try.

Rating: 4.75 points

2 thoughts on “[Review] Beckon Me by Cindy Thomas

  1. I would love to try this one myself. I love the cover and it pulled me in instantly, and then reading the synopsis it seems like such an intriguing idea. Especially with all the paranormal elements thrown in there! Great review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment <3

