Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read 07/07/15

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke And Bookish.
For future Top Ten Tuesday topics & info on how to participate, click here!

Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

Please note: This is my opinion, it doesn’t mean that these books are indeed bad or that you couldn’t enjoy these. I just have never read them (and for some I never plan to).

The Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan

I listened to the first Percy Jackson book and I watched the first movie. Both bored me pretty much. Also I found them quite ridiculous. So I’m really wary of giving this series a chance.

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Let me be honest with you. I got the audio book of this from the library a while back, but I haven’t felt the need to start this so far.

The Faults in Our Stars by John Green

I’m sorry, but I don’t like John Green and sad books, so I won’t even pick this up. It’s my opinion, deal with it, people.

Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling

I tried the first book when I was nine, but it couldn’t hold my back then really short attention span, but I will try it again, I promise. Just give me some time to get to it.

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

I have the ebook, since it was free, but this isn’t really my genre and I probably will never pick this up.

The Lord Of The Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien

I hate medieval books and I didn’t really enjoyed the movies (I slept through them), so I won’t pick this up, like never.

Fifty Shades Of Grey by E.L. James

I read the first few pages in the store and I bursted out laughing. No, I won’t read this. I have nothing against erotica, but this just sounds stupid.

Robert Langdon series by Dan Brown

Not my type of books. Sorry, not sorry.

House Of Nights series by P.C. & Kristin Cast

Please, put these books away. I have the first as an audio book, because someone I won’t name thought it would be a good idea to get it for me. It was on sale – and only it – which in my opinion, said a lot about it.

I listened to the first few tracks, only to delete it from my phone shortly after.

The Giver by Lois Lowry

This doesn’t sound like I could enjoy it, so I won’t even think about trying it.

What are ten of the hyped books you have never read? Leave your link in the comment section below.

28 thoughts on “Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read 07/07/15

    • I’m sorry πŸ˜‰ I was just quickly bored with HP as a kid and haven’t gotten around to pick it up πŸ™‚ I will though, I promise πŸ˜€ and I will listen to Eleanor and Park as well, I just need to wait for the right time ;D

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Some of the books on your list are my favourites! Do give Harry Potter another try. Ignore the movies, if you can, the books are way more magical. And Lord of the Rings is not medieval. It’s fantasy. Again, the books are much better than the films, and I am saying that as a fan of the movies. I really like the Robert Langdon series, but I’m into that sort of stuff. Eleanor & Park and The Fault In Our Stars are on my TBR pile. The Giver is a very moving story, in my opinion. But I agree with you on one thing: I wouldn’t touch Fifty Shades with a stick. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ok, then I have to correct myself: I’m not really into the hardcore fantasy stuff,sorry, no LoR for me πŸ˜‰ I will definitely give HP a chance and with the others we will see ;D
      Haha, I wouldn’t touch it with a stick either… But wait, I already held it in my hands. Where’s the sanitizer when you need it? πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I literally just finished reading Eleanor & Park a few minutes ago and totally loved it! I totally get why you wouldn’t want to read The Fault In Our Stars. I was adamant that I wouldn’t read it because it’s about cancer. My younger brother had cancer so I HATE reading books about cancer. I gave in and read it last year and really liked it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t read the books, but I watched the Percy Jackson movies!

    I have read/watched Harry Potter! All of them! And the giver. And Tolkin. But nothing else.

    Like

  4. If you don’t like the LoTR movies, DO NOT read the books. I enjoyed the movies but found the books so boring. Eleanor & Park is on my list to read. I hope you give Potter another chance and enjoy it this time. πŸ™‚ BUT I do get that not every book is for every person. (Look how many people love LoTR! LOL)

    Like

  5. Eleanor and Park was one of my favorite books I read last year. I seem to be an outlier when I say I prefer it over Fangirl, but I think all of Rainbow’s books are terrific. And you do need to try Harry Potter again! I know plenty of people who never could get into it, but it always makes me smile when someone falls in love with it later in life. Do try it! It’s also a pity you don’t have much interest in Lord of the Rings. I love the books — but I think I love the movies more! And The Giver, I think, is amazing, a true modern classic. Sad to hear it’s just not your type of thing. Happy reading, though!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I didn’t even think about Lord of the Rings, but I haven’t read them either. I did like the movies though, so there is a chance I’ll read them eventually. It’s a bit reassuring to know that someone else in the world has similar books that they haven’t read, especially when it seems like everyone else has. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Lifewithcassandra says:

    Okay , I’ve read most of the books on your list and I enjoyed most of them. Some gave me joy for ages which is why I’m hoping you are a never say never kinda gal . You have to read Harry Potter , Eleanor and Park and the Fault in our stars. Pretty please with cherries on top. I don’t fault you for adding Great gatsby and The fifty shades to your list… Thank you for stopping by the blog πŸ˜„

    Like

  8. Lifewithcassandra says:

    Interesting list πŸ˜„. You’ve got to read Harry Potter , Eleanor and Park and the Fault in my stars. These books I can vouch for. Thanks for stopping by the blog earlier πŸ˜„.

    Like

  9. My younger sister loved the House of Night series, lol. I was never interested in them.

    I got the Eleanor & Park audiobook from the library as well and it was actually a really good audiobook. I thought the narration was good. Sometimes it’s hard to listen to a book if you don’t like the voice/voices. This one was good though.

    I’m just now this year reading the HP books. Well audiobooks of them anyway. I want to experience the books, but I don’t want to actually read them myself. lol.

    I love The Heroes of Olympus! I’ve never read The Great Gatsby either.

    Like

  10. Harry Potter is so excellent. I didn’t get into them until my mid 20’s though.

    The only overly hyped books I can think of from the top of my head that I’ve not read are Gone Girl, 50 Shades, and Twilight.

    Like

  11. I’m so happy I found a person that put Harry Potter in this list too XD I’ve read the first few pages of Eleanor & Park and heven’t continue reading it since. Idk why, maybe the slump got me in the middle of it. πŸ™‚

    Like

  12. Melanie (YA Midnight Reads) says:

    You don’t like PJO? *cries silently* BUT WHAT HOW HAVE YOU NOT READ HP GET ON WITH THAT, GIRL!!!

    Like

  13. Aw, gawd. The House of Night series. I try to be positive when it comes to books… but oh dear lord they were… Urgh. Good choice in not reading them! Aww, definitely consider giving HP a chance. I adore those books to pieces ❀ (maybe you were too young at nine to really enjoy them???)

    Like

  14. I have read a lot of your picks and enjoyed most of them, except The Great Gatsby which was a snoozefest for me. You have a few of my favorites on here: Percy Jackson, The Lord of the Rings, and Harry Potter (I hope you give HP another shot). Fault in Our Stars was a good book but i’m with you on this on, I don’t like sad books and it put me in such a funk after reading it. The Giver and Robert Langdon are books that I found enjoyable as long as I didn’t overthink any of it and just went along for the ride.
    I’m never picking up Fifty Shades or House of Night though, like you I can’t help but laugh at 50 because it’s so ridiculously bad.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I think you can guess that what I’m going to recommend out of all of these, and that’s the Harry Potter series. I personally love it, so of course I would recommend it.

    Great list πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a comment <3

