[Review] Shadows Strike by Dianne Duvall

~ Shadows Strike by Dianne Duvall ~

(Immortal Guardians #6)
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Date of Publication: August 25th 2015 by Zebra
Source: NetGalley (320 pages)

Purchase: Amazon US | Amazon DE

                  goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

 

Synopsis:

The Immortal Guardians protect the innocent in secret. Sometimes the secret gets out…

U.S. law enforcement agent Heather Lane can read minds. But not the future. The dream of battle and blood that recurs every night must be a fluke, some obscure terror from her own mind. What its significance might be, she can’t guess: an attack from seven psychotic vampires at once, only separated from nightmare by an eighth very different immortal. A handsome, brave man fighting at her side, a man she misses when she wakes.

Then the dream comes true. Heather is flung into a war between predators and protectors of humanity, the man from her dreams beside her again. Except now that she’s awake, she isn’t sure she can trust Ethan, or the shadow organization he represents. The U.S. military doesn’t trust either of them. But against an onslaught of evil like the one that’s coming, it will take everything they have just to survive…

~ My Review ~

Dianne Duvall did it again. She sucked me right into her newest installment of the Immortal Guardians series. The only thing stopping me from reading this in one sitting was my bodys need for food and sleep. It was that good.

I requested it on NetGalley without any hope of being accepted, but I wanted to try at least and when I was accepted I might have jumped around happily a little bit, but shh, don’t tell anybody.

Anyway, let’s move on to the book.

Shadows Strike starts about a year after what happened in Night Unbound, with Heather sitting at an obscure early hour (I’m a night person, so 5am is too early for me) outside waiting for her dream, that she is having since a year, to come true.

I loved Heather, she was funny, knew how to handle a gun, took the whole ‘vampires are real’ talk like someone told her the sun was shining outside and she was the perfect match for Ethan.

We got a first glimpse of Ethan in Night Unbound, when he came to Lisette’s aid. I was immediately – I’m going to borrow a phrase from Dianne now – smitten with him. Now he finally got his own book and I have to say, he’s still as funny as he was in the previous book. He cares deeply for Heather and I love his interaction with Heather’s father. So funny. I would take him in a heartbeat.

The chemistry of those two was there right from the very first moment and the progress in their relationship felt right to me. It didn’t happen too fast or too slow.

Then another thing I loved about Shadows Strike is that we see a lot of the other characters as well, especially Zach and Seth (If you read my review for Night Unbound, you will notice that I love those guys to death.)

I love the Immortal Guardians books by Dianne Duvall, because she makes all of her characters look like a big, caring family I wish I could be a part of.

In regards of the whole story the story arc made a big step forward. A new enemie shows himself and wrecks a lot of havoc, new alliances are build and I can’t wait to see how everything will develop in the next book of the Immortal Guardians series. Could someone please develop a time machine, so I can go and get it in the future?

If you haven’t yet started the Immortal Guardians series I recommened that you start with Darkness Dawns. If you are a loyal fan like me and loved all of the previous books, you won’t find anything in this that you will dislike. So pick it up and be prepared for a book hangover. BIG TIME. I don’t know what to do with my life right now. This book ruined other books for me right now. I’m going to need some time to get over it.

Rating: 5 ‘I raise my hat for it’ stars

Leave a comment <3

