[Review] Fire In Frost by Alicia Rades

~ Fire In Frost by Alicia Rades ~

(Crystal Frost #1)
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Date of Publication: March 13th 2015
Source: Xpresso Book Tours (242 pages)

Purchase: Amazon US | Amazon DE

                      goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

 

Synopsis:

Crystal Frost has spent her whole life believing she’s ordinary, and her mother has long held the secret of her heritage. When Crystal begins seeing the ghost of a dead classmate, her life spirals out of control. She’s faced with the threat that everyone will find out she’s a freak, as if the struggle to figure out her new-found abilities wasn’t enough pressure. Crystal has to find some way to save the people who have come to her for help all while trying to keep her abilities a secret. Will she be able to fulfill these overwhelming demands while solving the mystery that is the ghost of Olivia Owen?

~ My review ~

I received this book from Xpresso Book Tours in exchange for an honest opinion.

I really wanted to like this book and I did – to some degree. It’s just that this book had nothing new for me. It had a girl turned psychic theme, a damsel in distress said girl had to help and of course a bully the damsel had to be rescued from.

The book was nicely und understandable written and the characters were likeable. Crystal and her friends were fun to watch. At one point I wasn’t sure I would actually like Emma, one of her friends, because in the beginning she was really annoying, but she had her reasons. The three of them, Crystal, Emma and Derek,  were really tight, also I can see a possible romantical involvement between Emma and Derek, but it still was really hard to pick this book up, because like I said it had nothing new for me.

Another thing that bothered me about this book was that it’s supposed to be about psychics, but throughout the whole book I had the feeling they were witches instead and just called themselves psychics for the fun of it. They held seances and looked into the future with a crystal ball. Do you think witches or psychics when you hear that?

Also I had the feeling that at the end of the book Crystal’s “secret” wasn’t really a secret because everyone knows about it.

It was still a nice and enjoyable read, just nothing new in my opinion. I’m sorry. Maybe I’ve read to much paranormal YA the last few month and my brain is now telling me that it’s enough for the moment.

The one thing I absolutely adore about this book though, is the cover. It’s gorgeous and I would buy this book solely for the purpose of putting it on my shelf (if I had one 😉 )

If you like your YA books with a paranormal background where one girl is looking for answers with her psychic abilities to help another girl, you found it ;).

Rating: 3 stars.

Leave a comment <3

