[Review] Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

~ Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi ~

(Shatter Me #1)
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian
Date of Publication: November 15th 2011 by Harper
Source: Library (German edition, 320 pages)

Purchase: Amazon US | Amazon DE

                    goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

 

Synopsis:

I have a curse
I have a gift

I am a monster
I’m more than human

My touch is lethal
My touch is power

I am their weapon
I will fight back

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

~ My Review ~

german cover of shatter me

german cover of shatter me

I have to be honest with you. If it weren’t for all the people I follow on Goodreads I would have dnf-ed this at 25%. But they all loved it and I was like “I need to know why” so I just kept on reading.

And it got better … roughly around 70%.

The main reason why I couldn’t enjoy this book as much as I would have liked was the writing style. I read on other reviews that everyone loved Mafi’s writing style, it’s so unique and everything, but to be honest, I was pretty annoyed by it.

I mean, seriously? Who in his right mind wants to read one sentence 100 times? I mean what is even the purpose of that, except to fill pages?


The other reason for my thought of dnf-ing this were the main characters. I just couldn’t warm up to Adam and what’s her name again… oh, right…. Juliette.  Juliette was annoying most of the time and Adam… well, he was ok, but still not one of my favourite characters. Those two won’t hit my favourite character list anytime soon.

Neither will Warner. I still can’t get over the fact that he’s just 19. He’s way too creepy and controlling to be just 19 years old.

The one character I liked was Kenji. He was funny and the book immediately got better when he joined Adam and Juliette, which was around 70%. He’s basically the reason I got to the end of this book.

Also this book was quite boring in the beginning. Bored the crap out of me.

I know my review till now sounds really negative, but I will still give the second book a try, because it got slightly better after they escaped Warner and I’m curious to see what will happen to Juliette now that she found a safe haven for herself and Adam. I don’t have high hope though that I will finish the series.

Rating: 3,5 stars

5 thoughts on “[Review] Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

  1. You know, you put my thoughts into words. I read this book because my twitter feed and my Goodreads friends were all “omg this is so good” but I’ve been struggling reviewing this book simply because I can’t remember reading half of it (cos I was that bored and got distracted pretty much all the time). I didn’t like the writing style either.

    Okay, the crossing out words was different and at first, it was kind of cool but at some point I just had this feeling that it was solemnly to be different and didn’t have a purpose to the story anymore, nor did it enhance the story in any way possible. So the point got lost and if you look closely, the crossing out happens A LOT at the beginning and then it seems as if Tahereh Mafi sort of forgot about her own writing style and reminding herself every now and again she has to cross out words (that don’t make ANY SENSE then) only to reinforce her writing style. Ridiculous.

    Also, totally agree, what’s up with repeating the same sentence a billion times?! Like that one page? I literally screamed PAGE FILLER at that point. And Juliette…urgh. What’s up with her? She sometimes sound as if she’s on crack or something.

    I couldn’t agree more with you. I don’t think I even gave it 3.5 stars *checks Goodreads quickly* I gave it 3 stars, I’m not sure what I was thinking, considering how much it annoyed me.

    Also, did you get some sense of the world? Apart from the fact there’s this Reestablishment (whatever the heck that really means…), I don’t think we’ve been told more about it, right? I remember being frustrated, not understanding what’s going on, what happened and all that; maybe I didn’t pay enough attention (which is probably the case if I’m being honest).

    Like I’ve mentioned on Goodreads, I don’t know if I’ll be reading the second book. I might because I hate not finishing a series (and the fact that I’m scared that something huge might happen that might change my entire opinion on the series). But yeah, I was disappointed with Shatter Me. I expected so much more.

    (Sorry about the ramble, I’m just glad I’m not the only one having these feelings about Shatter Me)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment <3

