[Review] Wolf Trouble by Paige Tyler

~ Wolf Trouble by Paige Tyler ~

(SWAT #2)
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Date of Publication: August 4th 2015 by Sourcebooks Casablanca
Source: NetGalley

Purchase: Amazon US | Amazon DE

                            9a718-goodreads

 

Synopsis: He’s in trouble with a capital T…

There’s never been a female on the Dallas SWAT team and Senior Corporal Xander Riggs prefers it that way. The elite pack of alpha male wolfshifters is no place for a woman. But Khaki Blake is no ordinary woman.

When Khaki walks through the door attractive as hell and smelling like heaven, Xander doesn’t know what the heck to do. Worse, she’s put under his command and Xander’s protective instincts go on high alert. When things start heating up both on and off the clock, it’s almost impossible to keep their heads in the game and their hands off each other…

~~ My Review ~~

I liked Paige Tyler’s X-Ops series, so I hit request on this one, but I will say it right in the beginning: I wasn’t really a fan of Wolf Trouble, it wasn’t bad, but just not really to my likings.

One positive thing I want to say right away is that you can totally read this as a stand-alone. You need absolutely no background information from the other books to understand Wolf Trouble and I really like that about the author. At least I got along without reading the first book.

Also I liked the main characters Khaki (kick-ass female!) and Xander (wants to do the right thing) – even more I liked Cooper, which is a sad thing since he is a side character – but there was just too much stuff bothering me.

Reason number one: The name “Khaki”. This has to be the worst name ever. I always had to think of the wall in my old classroom back in school, when I read Khaki.

Reason number two: They whole relationship is build up on the reason that they like each others scent. Seriously, I felt absolutely no chemistry between them.

Reason number three: They like each others scent, but Xander needs like half a book to figure that the scent thing means that she’s his mate. Are you kidding me? That one was pretty obvious, because you were the only one that thought so about her scent! Seriously, Xander.

If we ignore these three things, it was still an ok read and it did have some fun moments, like when their secret relationship nearly got busted or the talk with Cooper. It got better in the last half of the book, after they finally got together, but I guess it just wasn’t for me. I like her other series more.

Nonetheless if you like paranormal romance with some action in the combination with werewolves, I recommened that you give this one a try.

Rating: 3.5 stars

Leave a comment <3

