[Review] Lying Game Series By Sara Shepard

~ Lying Game Series by Sara Shepard ~

Genre: YA, Mystery

Pub Date: 2010 – 2013

Publisher: HarperTeen

 

Synopsis “The Lying Game” (Book #1):

I had a life anyone would kill for. Then someone did. The worst part of being dead is that there’s nothing left to live for. No more kisses. No more secrets. No more gossip. It’s enough to kill a girl all over again. But I’m about to get something no one else does–an encore performance, thanks to Emma, the long-lost twin sister I never even got to meet. Now Emma’s desperate to know what happened to me. And the only way to figure it out is to be me–to slip into my old life and piece it all together. But can she laugh at inside jokes with my best friends? Convince my boyfriend she’s the girl he fell in love with? Pretend to be a happy, care-free daughter when she hugs my parents goodnight? And can she keep up the charade, even after she realizes my murderer is watching her every move? From Sara Shepard, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Pretty Little Liars books, comes a riveting new series about secrets, lies, and killer consequences. Let the lying game begin.

~~ My Review ~~

I read the whole series for the 13th Bout Of Books Read-A-Thon a while back. I will try not to spoil the series for you in this review.

The books in general

I think they could have been a lot shorter, because some scenes were just unnecessary and did nothing for the story. Also I’m totally sure the third book “Two Truths and A Lie” can be ignored when you read the series. In my opinion, it just acted as a filler. Also all the books followed the same concept which got annoying when I reached book 4. The concept looks like this:

New Suspect -> Investigation / “Interrogation” -> Suspect is proven innocent

Even though I was kind of annoyed by this concept, the books were fun to read and sometimes even creepy.

You know this feeling when you’re reading a book or watching tv and something creepy is happening and you then think someone is standing right behind you, ready to kill you? No? Well, then it’s just me. XD And it did happen while I read The Lying Game. I guess I’m just easily frightened.

POV & Writing Style

Before I started this, I thought the POV would be Emma’s, but it was from the Sutton’s point-of-view, which is kind of unique and I liked it. The writing style was quick and easy to read. That’s all there is to say about the POV and writing style

The Characters

Our main character is Emma, who I immediately liked. She is the twin-sister no one knew about and she takes Sutton’s place, after some threats towards her are made. She is fun, nice and can adapted to her unique situation pretty easy, also she is smart, too. The one thing that bothered me about her was that she jumped to conclusions to quick. She saw one clue and was on the “murderer”-waggon right away, without leaving room for another explanation. That caused some stupid situations she could have avoided if she would have giving the suspects a moment of doubt. Sutton’s (our deceased twin’s) so-called friends were kind of crazy and mean. They played games with each other… bad games … it’s their Lying Game, which is an exclusive clique with only four – later six – members. They became nicer through the influence of Emma. Ethan, Emma’s boyfriend, was… well, I don’t know how to say this. I didn’t like him. That’s all I can say about him. The side characters played all their part in the solving of the crime, but I think some could have been left out, because I felt like they were just in the books so Emma had someone to suspect. I liked the hunt for the murderer, but it got boring after one clue was named in the third or fourth book. After that I knew who the perp was, but till then it was fun trying to figure it out with Emma together.

Overall rating of the books

I would give this series something between 4-4.25 stars, because I enjoyed reading it, but it just was a little to long for my taste.

7 thoughts on “[Review] Lying Game Series By Sara Shepard

  1. Have you read Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard? If not; are you planning on? I have the feeling they’re pretty similar so an idea for a nice blog post would be a comparison somehow. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a comment <3

