[Review] Soulceress by Linsey Hall

~ Soulceress by Linsey Hall ~


(Mythean Arcana #2)
Genre: Paranormal, Romance
Date of Publication: November 10th 2014 by Bonnie Doon Press
Source: NetGalley (300 pages)

                           goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

 

Synopsis:

A man desperate to save his soul
Three hundred years ago, Warren sold his soul in exchange for the safety of his people. He lives immortal and inhuman, a life in the shadows, hiding his secrets. Until now, when he finally has the chance to reclaim his soul after three centuries of suffering…

A woman forced to live as a renegade
Esha is a soulceress, an immortal who drains the magical powers of others. Shunned by everyone she meets, she’s a rogue mercenary who hunts evil for a living. The only man she cannot harm is Warren, whose secrets intrigue her and whose body sparks her desire…

An evil power that can destroy them
Esha is the only person who can help Warren reclaim his soul. But what begins as a simple quest soon becomes a deadly battle, one in which choices will be made and secrets revealed that could tear them apart. As Esha and Warren uncover their passion, they must defeat the evil forces unleashed against them before time runs out…

~ My Review ~

I got this book from NetGalley back in my beginnings of using it *cough* October 2014 *cough* and I’m so sorry that I only now got around to read it, but please hear me out. I had my reasons. Read on for my explanation and my review, which will be a listing of sorts.

Why I didn’t want to start this:
  •  this is actually the second book of a series and I was convinced for so long that I couldn’t read this one as a stand-alone. Boy, I was wrong! This can so be read as a stand-alone so easily! Absolutely no problem!
  • I wasn’t exactly sure if I would like it based on the synopsis, because this sounded a lot like meh… The synopsis didn’t do the book justice.
  • I got this one from the “Read Now”-section when I was still not sure how NetGalley works exactly and I was kind of over my head with this one, so I never picked it up
  • I felt guilty for not reading it in an appropriate time span, so I just didn’t read it, but then I thought to myself: even if I’m a year late, I guess the author (and publisher) would still like to know my opinion
Why I should have picked it up years ago:

+ likeable and interesting characters that aren’t instantly in love the first time they set eyes at each other. They needed ten years to finally find common ground and get together. Ten years! Also they seemed so real. Esha’s struggle of giving her trust away and Warren’s opinion of being bad for everyone because he has no soul – like I said, realistic characters.
+ a plot line I liked, kind of reminded me of a treasure hunt
+ only two POVs
+ only a minor use of the “I have a secret but I won’t tell you, because it would endanger you/ruin our relationship/etc”-type of plot. This is so abused by authors nowadays, I’m always happy when it’s not there or only briefly.
+ the story was something entirely new to me. I’m intrigued to read on.

The things I sadly didn’t like that much:

– the cover. I have nothing against people on covers. In fact I even think I’m buy more books with people on it than not, but I just didn’t like this one.
– everyone get’s a good ending… even our villian get’s a second chance, because she’s not really evil, just misunderstood… I’m not a big fan of that twist in a story
– I am still not really sure if I get the whole world building of the story. Some aspects where left unclear, but I guess that’s what the third book in the series is for 😉

Rating: 4 stars

Leave a comment <3

