Interview with Rose Fall, author of Heart

1. Tell us something about your book. Is it your debut? What genre does it belong to? HEART cover ebook jpg

My book is called HEART. It is a romantic short story collection in the young adult and new adult genres. HEART is my debut work, and it is made up of five short stories about different characters exploring various stages of romantic love. The characters get progressively older, with the first story containing the youngest main characters and the last story containing the oldest. The collection follows a diverse range of characters, so that there is at least one story every reader can relate to!

2. Is your book part of a series or can it be read as a stand-alone?

This work is a stand-alone.

3. If you’re not writing, what do you love to do?

I have no shortage of hobbies (which is probably the reason I’m not an expert in anything). I love baking, reading, writing songs, learning languages, dancing, watching movies, and going on adventures.

4. Did anyone inspire you to start writing, if yes, who, or did you always knew you just had to write?

I think the authors whose books I’ve read are the ones who inspired me to start writing. When I read really good stories, I remembered the way they made me feel, and I would think “Hey! I want to do that!” I wanted my words to have an impact on someone’s life the same way theirs had on me.

5. Any advice/tips for newbies?

The only way to get better at writing is to write…and to read. Read everything you can get your hands on, and write something that means something to you. Readers will know if your heart’s not in it.

6. Are you already writing a new book? Can you tell us a little bit about it?

Right now I’m in the process of editing a novel called How to Get Your Heart Broken which I’ll be releasing next spring. It is a YA contemporary novel about three best friends that go away to the beach the summer before they start college. They make a bet about the boy next door and as these things go, disaster ensues. It’s got a lot of humor, hot boys, and three very powerful female leads.

There’s a three chapter excerpt of it included in HEART.

7. A word that you use way too often? (Mine are “quite” and “probably”)

“Absurd.” Because everything is absurd. It is a pretty cool word, don’t cha think?

8. When does your book release?

HEART is already out. You can buy it on amazon: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B011A4Z62G

9. Last but not least: What’s your favourite type of candy, if you don’t mind me asking?

I LOVE sour candy. That is really my only criteria!

Author Bio IMG_9200

Rose Fall was born in New York City to Senegalese immigrant parents. She is currently studying Communication and Global Studies at UNC Chapel Hill. She is a middle child, a dreamer, and an amateur hoarder. Her debut novel “How to Get Your Heart Broken” is set to be released Spring 2016. You can find her at her blog on http://www.rosesarecool.wordpress.com

 

HEART 7 Seconds in Heaven Teaser

Leave a comment <3

