Interview with Sally Slater, author of Paladin

1. Tell us something about your book. Is it your debut? What genre does it belong to?

paladinMy novel, Paladin, is a YA fantasy with a bit of romance mixed in. The story centers on Lady Samantha “Sam” of Haywood, the daughter of a duke who would rather be swinging a sword than threading a needle. After the death of a loved one at the hands of a demon, she runs away from home and disguises herself as a boy in order to join the Paladins, the most elite warriors in the kingdom. She trains under a handsome young mentor who knew her as a woman…but has yet to recognize her…and befriends a fellow Paladin trainee, who also happens to be a half-demon. The story follows her journey of self-discovery as she learns to balance being a warrior with being a woman.

Paladin is my first novel, and the past few months since its debut have been a total whirlwind. It’s incredibly exciting to be able to share my writing with the world and make the transition from wannabe writer to published author.

2. Is your book part of a series or can it be read as a stand-alone?

Paladin is the first book in a series. That said, I hate cliffhanger endings, so while there’s more to the story following this one, the main plotline does wrap up in this first book.

3. If you’re not writing, what do you love to do?

My passion outside of writing is Crossfit. For the uninitiated, CrossFit combines a number of sports disciplines – gymnastics, Olympic lifting, powerlifting, running, etc. – into a single sport. I figure if I’m going to write about strong female protagonists, I should be a strong woman, too.

4. Did anyone inspire you to start writing, if yes, who, or did you always knew you just had to write?

I didn’t know I wanted to be a writer until my senior year of college, when I took a creative writing course on a whim. After I turned in my first writing assignment, my professor took me aside and asked me if I planned to pursue writing as a career. When I said no (it had honestly never occurred to me), he told me that if I didn’t find a way to write in my career, I’d be miserable for the rest of my life.

My professor was right, of course, and I’m grateful that he pointed it out!

5. Any advice/tips for newbies?

Write an outline of your entire plot before you start writing. You don’t have to get into the nitty-gritty details (unless you want to) but it’s helpful to know the general direction your story is going before you get started, and your outline can help redirect you when you get stuck.

6. When does your book release?

It’s out now! The ebook is available on Amazon, and the paperback and hardback editions are available from Amazon, BarnesandNoble.com, and Book Depository. If you have Kindle Unlimited, you can get the ebook for free.

7. Last but not least: What’s your favourite type of candy, if you don’t mind me asking?

I’m not much of a candy person, but I will eat anything chocolate. I’m a total chocolate addict and get cranky if I go more than a day without some.

Author Bio IMG_1699

Sally Slater is a writer and the author of Paladin, a fantasy adventure novel that has garnered over 11 million reads on Wattpad, the social media platform for readers and writers. Published in May 2015, Paladin is a #1 Amazon bestseller in the Teen Fantasy and Teen Sword & Sorcery categories. Her writing has also appeared in The Huffington Post, The Sydney Morning Herald’s Daily News, and Book Riot.

When she’s not writing, Sally is a public relations professional at a strategic communications and advisory firm in New York City. She also dabbles in CrossFit and firmly believes that women in both real life and fiction should be strong. You can follow her on Wattpad at www.wattpad.com/user/SallySlater or Twitter at @sallyroseslater.

Follow Sally: Website | Twitter | Goodreads

Find Paladin On: Amazon | Goodreads

Leave a comment <3

