Interview with Colleen Helme, author of Crossing Danger

1. Tell us something about your book. What genre does it belong to? crossing danger

The latest book in my Shelby Nichols Adventure Series is called CROSSING DANGER. It is a mystery with a paranormal twist because the main character, Shelby Nichols, can read minds. As you can imagine, this gets her into all sorts of trouble.

2. Is your book part of a series or can it be read as a stand-alone?

This is the 7th book in the series, but I wanted to make sure that each book is a stand-alone so they each have a beginning, middle and end. I like to think of each book as an episode in the overall series, with the same main characters, but with different plots, places, and people.

3. If you’re not writing, what do you love to do?

Besides reading, I love to go on long bike rides (as long as there aren’t too many hills, hehehe), walks with my dog, and I’ve just picked up a new sport called pickleball – which I love! I also love to do watercolor paintings when I get the chance. Every Sunday night my family gets together to play board and card games and eat popcorn. I also love to watch my favorite TV shows, CASTLE, THE GOOD WIFE, and SUITS.

4. Did anyone inspire you to start writing, if yes, who, or did you always knew you just had to write?

Reading has always been important to me and gave my imagination wings. With stories of my own in my head I decided to learn everything I could about how to write so I could put these stories onto paper in a way that made sense. I took several writing classes and then decided to just go for it. My first efforts were not my best, but I learned how to write by writing. For me it was a process, but one that has been very rewarding.

5. Any advice/tips for newbies?

YES! Learn the craft. Then start with a 20,000 word story and see how it goes. It’s always nice to have a mentor who’s willing to critique your work, the hard part is not letting these critiques get you down, but to learn from them and keep going.

6. Are you already writing a new book? Can you tell us a little bit about it?

Yes! I’m currently writing the next Shelby Nichols Adventure. It’s called DEVIOUS MINDS and so far, things are starting to come together in an exciting way! For this book I actually spent some time in Paris! It was amazing and I got some great ideas.

7. A word that you use way too often? (Mine are “quite” and “probably”)

I’m like you – probably is way up there. I find that if I use a word I like in one sentence, it seems to pop up again in the same paragraph. So, I’m always looking at my thesaurus for a different word that means the same thing so I don’t overuse any one word.

8. When does your book release?

That’s a good one that I don’t have the answer for. I’m hoping for the end of the year, but it all depends on how crazy this adventure gets and how hard I have to work to solve the problems Shelby gets into!

(Note from Emalie: Crossing Danger is already out, it’s Devious Minds dear Colleen is talking about right not 🙂 )

9. Last but not least: What’s your favorite type of candy, if you don’t mind me asking?

My favorite is chocolate covered marshmallow bears. I like to break the chocolate and let it sit so the marshmallow gets a little chewy before I eat it.

AUTHOR BIO:Colleen_Helme_2015_Web

As the author of the Shelby Nichols Adventure Series, Colleen is often asked if Shelby Nichols is her alter-ego. “Definitely,” she says. “Shelby is the epitome of everything I wish I dared to be.” Known for her laugh since she was a kid, Colleen has always tried to find the humor in every situation and continues to enjoy writing about Shelby’s adventures. “I love getting Shelby into trouble…I just don’t always know how to get her out of it!” Colleen lives in the Rocky Mountains with her family. Besides writing, she loves a good book, biking, hiking, and playing board and card games with family and friends. She loves to connect with readers and admits that fans of the series keep her writing.

AUTHOR LINKS:
http://www.colleenhelme.com
http://www.shelbynicholsconsulting.com
https://www.facebook.com/ColleenHelmeAuthor
https://twitter.com/ColleenHelme
http://www.amazon.com/Colleen-Helme/e/B004JP9RWO/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/105805.Colleen_Helme

Leave a comment <3

