Interview with Brenda J. Pierson, author of Soul of The Blade & No Hill Without Treasure

1. Tell us something about your book. Is it your debut? What genre does it belong soul of the bladeto?

Right now I have two books out—Soul of the Blade and No Hill Without Treasure. Both are epic fantasy, sword-and-sorcery adventures in the vein of Brandon Sanderson and R.A. Salvatore. Lots of magic and battles against horrible monsters to save the world.

2. Is your book part of a series or can it be read as a stand-alone?

One of my favorite parts of writing is worldbuilding, and I’m constantly thinking of cool new magics and monsters I want to write about. This means I write a lot of stand-alone novels—both Soul of the Blade and No Hill Without Treasure are completely separate, independent novels. I do have plans for a handful of sequels in the future, however.

3. If you’re not writing, what do you love to do?no hill without treasure

I’m a complete bookworm, so I often have my nose in a book or two. But I’m also a gamer, and I will waste days in fantasy RPGs like the Elder Scrolls, Dragon Age, or Final Fantasy. I also hike, camp, crochet, and play Magic: The Gathering.

4. Did anyone inspire you to start writing, if yes, who, or did you always knew you just had to write?

I wrote my first “book” when I was six years old. I wanted a pet bunny, so I wrote My Take Care of Bunnies Book to show my parents I could care for one. It didn’t work out (maybe because I drew a picture of walking the bunny with a leash?) but I’ve been writing ever since. I started on novels when I was 19 based on the encouragement of a friend.

5. Any advice/tips for newbies?

Grab hold of every opportunity you can to learn more. Read books about writing, talk to other writers, find critique partners, go to workshops. Keep practicing—writing is a skill like any other, and you can’t improve unless you work on it. And never, ever, ever give up.

6. Are you already writing a new book? Can you tell us a little bit about it?

I sure can! I have two projects going—one is an anthology I’m co-editing with my friend and amazing author Claudie Arseneault. It’s a collection of short stories revolving around solarpunk dragons called Wings of Renewal, and it will release at the end of October.

My next independent project is an epic fantasy called Joythief. It’s set in a Persian-inspired fantasy world, with a poison that kills the part of a person they love the most. My protagonist is a princess-turned-thief who has to fight to preserve magic and save the world while losing her skills and identity as a thief.

7. A word that you use way too often? (Mine are “quite” and “probably”)

Nearly, hardly, barely. It’s like my characters never do anything—they just get close to it. I overuse “really” a lot, too.

8. When does your book release?

Wings of Renewal: A Solarpunk Dragon Anthology will release late October. Joythief should be available early 2016.

9. Last but not least: What’s your favourite type of candy, if you don’t mind me asking?

Oooh. I have a ginormous sweet tooth. If it’s covered in chocolate there’s a good chance I’ll eat it. I’m a huge sucker for Twix—it’s a cookie inside a candy bar, what more could you ask for?—but pretty much whatever candy is on its way to my mouth at that moment is my favorite.

Author BioBJP Author Photo 

Brenda J. Pierson is just a nerd living her dream. She’s an editor as well as author for Incandescent Phoenix Books. Writer, bookworm, avid gamer, lover of tacos, and crazy cat lady, she’s living the good life with her husband and kitties in her hometown of Tucson, Arizona.

Follow Brenda on:

Twitter | Facebook | Website | Amazon | Goodreads Author Page

Advertisements

Leave a comment <3

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s