[Review] You And Me And Him by Kris Dinnison

~ You And Me And Him by Kris Dinnison ~

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Date of Publication: July 7th 2015 by HMH Books for Young Readers
Source: NetGalley (288 pages)

Purchase: Amazon USAmazon DE

                   goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

 

Synopsis:

“Do not ignore a call from me when you know I am feeling neurotic about a boy. That is Best Friend 101.” —Nash
Maggie and Nash are outsiders. She’s overweight. He’s out of the closet. The best of friends, they have seen each other through thick and thin, but when Tom moves to town at the start of the school year, they have something unexpected in common: feelings for the same guy. This warm, witty novel—with a clear, true voice and a clever soundtrack of musical references—sings a song of love and forgiveness.

~ My Review ~

First I want to say something that has nothing to do with the book nor my review. It’s just that I had to read this on my laptop because the Kindle version wasn’t available, but I saw that only after I’ve already requested it. I could only read once or two chapters at one before I did get a headache. On NetGalley is a note from the publisher saying “Due to file conversion and reader experience issues, the kindle download option is currently disabled” and you know what? I really don’t care how the ebook looks, as long as I can read it without any problems… Just saying.

Anyway, on to the book. I immediately was drawn in when I read the synopsis, it spoke to me since I have never been a lightweight myself. Back in school I struggled with my weight most of the time as well, so I could totally relate to Maggie.

But the synopsis is totally misleading. When I started this book I thought it would be like the synopsis said it: both, Maggie and her best friend Nash, would be into a bisexual guy named Tom. Sadly that’s not the way it worked out, since Tom is only straight. Poor Nash.

A much bigger problem I had with this book was that, though I could relate to Maggie, by 50% of the book I was still struggling with one elementary question: Do I like the main characters? … No, I do not like the main characters. They just felt immature (yeah, yeah, they are still going to school, so they are allowed to be immature) and I had this problem with Tom. He just seemed too nice for most of the book. I don’t really know if being too nice is considered a problem, but it bugged me.

Then there was this thing between Maggie and Nash that was kind of annoying and I’m talking about the jealousy thing AKA Nash between jealous and angry with Maggie, because she gets to spent time with Tom, even though he encourages her to spent time with him! Get a grip, Nash!

Sadly, this book couldn’t really hold my attention, even though the writing style made it easy to read. I decided to stop reading it at 52%. I’m sorry, I just wasn’t really invested into the story, since me and the characters didn’t click and the story wasn’t that unique either.

Rating: 2 stars

Leave a comment <3

