Interview with Cecilia London, author of Dissident

1. Tell us something about your book. Is it your debut? What genre does it belong to? dissident new cover

It’s a bit of a mishmash. My first book, Dissident, has been described by one reviewer as “political dystopian intellectual smut,” but I’m not entirely sure that captures it. It’s part contemporary romance, part romantic suspense, with bits of speculative and political fiction.

Told mostly in flashback, Dissident tells us of the budding romantic relationship between our heroine Caroline and Jack, the silver fox playboy who tries to win her heart. Caroline, a Democrat, has said some particularly nasty things about Jack, a Republican, during the last election cycle. So she has to do some quick apologizing, and a friendship and more is born.

In the second book, Conscience, the romance heats up and the plot gets significantly darker. There’s still plenty of angst and drama, and it is not for the faint of heart. But it’s all part of the epic romance between the two characters.

2. Is your book part of a series or can it be read as a stand-alone?

I am writing a six part saga, and the first two books have been released. The books all end in cliffhangers (except for the last one, obviously), but they’re somewhat…optimistic for lack of a better word.

3. If you’re not writing, what do you love to do?

I love reading. And I’m a sucker for the old shows from my youth – Dynasty, The Love Boat, Beverly Hills 90210. I also watch a lot of baseball.

4. Did anyone inspire you to start writing, if yes, who, or did you always knew you just had to write?

I’ve been writing since I was a kid but my favorite author growing up was Ellen Emerson White. We’re Facebook friends now, so that’s kind of cool. Her President’s Daughter series made me realize that I could write about anything I wanted, and maybe someday someone would want to read it.

5. Any advice/tips for newbies?

I’m still a newbie myself so I guess…just keep going. There are many bumps in the road and sometimes the journey seems long but just keep swimming.

6. Are you already writing a new book? Can you tell us a little bit about it?

I’m writing the third book in my series, which I am hoping to release before the end of the year. It continues our heroine’s journey and hopefully continues to fill in the blanks that I’ve purposely left as I’ve written the books.

7. A word that you use way too often? (Mine are “quite” and “probably”)

Obviously.conscience new cover

8. When does your book release?

Dissident and Conscience are already out, and were released March 17 and August 17, respectively. Dissident is currently free at most retailers, though some Amazon sites have yet to price match.

9. Last but not least: What’s your favourite type of candy, if you don’t mind me asking?

I love chocolate. I fell in love with Crunchie bars during a summer in London and it breaks my heart that they’re so hard to find in the States.

Author Bio

Cecilia London is my pen name. I am a native Midwesterner who never thought I’d end up in Texas and yet here I am, determined to help Keep San Antonio Lame. I have been known to dabble in the practice of law. I can apply Simpsons quotes to everyday life, and I live for baseball season.  I’ve been writing off and on since I was a kid, but never really thought I’d have any idea that could turn into a single novel, let alone a series. There aren’t many books about how dystopias/totalitarian political regimes come into existence, and I wanted to touch upon that topic while still maintaining a primary focus on the epic romance. The Bellator Saga is my first published work.

Twitter | Facebook | Website | Amazon Author Page

Free links for Dissident (check before purchase if there are still free!):

Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | B&N | iBooks | Smashwords

 

 

Leave a comment <3

