Interview with Cindy Thomas, author of Beckon Me + Giveaway!

1. Tell us something about your book. Is it your debut? beckon me

BECKON ME is my new adult debut. It’s about a college sophomore and her best friend who were both shot a few months before. Karina (the main character) survived, but her best friend, Rainey, did not. Over the next months, Karina is haunted by Rainey and then learns that she now has a chance to help Rainey cross over. But the choice comes with the danger of Karina losing her own soul in the process. There also happens to be a super hot neighbor involved, who may or may not be good for Karina, but you’ll have to read it to find out.

2. Is your book part of a series or can it be read as a stand-alone?

It can be read as a standalone, but there will be one more book to complete the duology.

3. If you’re not writing, what do you love to do?

Read! And play with my kids. I also love binge watching tv shows with my husband.

4. Did anyone inspire you to start writing, if yes, who, or did you always knew you just had to write?

I’ve always loved to write. I don’t think I’ve ever not written, but reading Caroline B. Cooney’s THE FACE ON THE MILK CARTON was the teen novel that *really* hooked me on books for young readers. It’s been 20 years since I first read that book and it’s still one of my absolute favorites.

5. Any advice/tips for newbies?

Never give up. Take breaks if you need to, but if writing is something you truly enjoy and want to do, then keep at it. And surround yourself with others who feel the same way. Writing is a lonely thing at times, so I’ve found it incredibly helpful to have friends who also write, people who understand the ups and downs.

6. Are you already writing a new book? Can you tell us a little bit about it?

Yes! I’m currently working on the BECKON ME sequel, as well as a young novel for my agent. The young adult novel is very much about self forgiveness and man, I’m so in love with this story. I can’t wait to share more when it’s finished. 🙂

7. A word that you use way too often? (Mine are “quite” and “probably”)

“Just.” I overuse it so incredibly much. I also say pretty much everything is “awesome.”

8. When does your book release?

BECKON ME released in April of this year. I’m hoping to release the sequel (titled RELEASE ME as of right now) in February 2016.

9. Last but not least: What’s your favourite type of candy, if you don’t mind me asking?

Reese’s Pieces. I could eat an entire bag all at once.

_____

Have you ever read my review for Beckon Me? Check it out here.

Giveaway: Cindy is so kind to offer one ebook copy of Beckon Me to one lucky winner, just use the rafflecopter to enter 🙂

Rafflecopter giveaway

Author Bio cindy thomas

Cindy has dreamed of being an author since third grade when she won a writing contest for a story she wrote about her deceased great aunt. She hasn’t been able to ignore that dream since and chooses to spend most of her free time listening to the voices in her head and writing their stories.

Outside of her writing, Cindy is happily married and has three young boys. She lives in PA, but was born and raised in NC. Even though she’s lived in the northern half of the US for ten years, she still very much misses grits for breakfast and every now and then goes on a country music binge.

Her debut novel, BECKON ME, released on April 13, 2015. It’s a dark but sweet NA paranormal romance for both NA and upper YA readers.

Website | Blog | Twitter | Goodreads

Leave a comment <3

