[Review] Lover At Last by J.R. Ward

~ Lover At Last by J.R. Ward~

(Black Dagger Brotherhood #11)
Genre: Paranormal, Romance
Date of Publication:
March 26th 2013 by NAL Hardcover
Source: Library

 

                              goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

 

Synopsis:

Qhuinn, son of no one, is used to being on his own. Disavowed from his bloodline, shunned by the aristocracy, he has finally found an identity as one of the most brutal fighters in the war against the Lessening Society. But his life is not complete. Even as the prospect of having a family of his own seems to be within reach, he is empty on the inside, his heart given to another….

Blay, after years of unrequited love, has moved on from his feelings for Qhuinn. And it’s about time: The male has found his perfect match in a Chosen female, and they are going to have a young—just as Qhuinn has always wanted for himself. It’s hard to see the new couple together, but building your life around a pipe dream is just a heartbreak waiting to happen. As he’s learned firsthand.

Fate seems to have taken these vampire soldiers in different directions… but as the battle over the race’s throne intensifies, and new players on the scene in Caldwell create mortal danger for the Brotherhood, Qhuinn finally learns the true definition of courage, and two hearts who are meant to be together… finally become one.

~ My Review ~

****This is my second try writing this review. My first draft was deleted because my browser went back a page when I hit BACK on my keyboard… I just wanted to delete a word… but after that my first draft was lost, so this is my second try. Sadly, it’s not as good as the first one. I apologize and go back to hating my browser****

Ok, let me start with being totally honest about one thing. I gave up on this series like two books prior to this one, because I stopped caring about the story and especially the characters. The only reason I ever got as far as I did was because of Blay and Quinn.

But I got a library card a while back and when I discovered that my library owns this, I borrowed it. Just because I needed to know how the story between Quinn and Blay ends. Also please notice: I’m normally not really into male/male, but I’ve made an expection just for those two.

Well, anyway, who’s this book about? Like I’ve mentioned a few times before and the synopsis said it as well, this book is about Blay and Quinn. Blay is gay and was always into Quinn till he gave up and moved on and Quinn is kind of bi, but really undetermined about his own feelings. Also there are both vampire hunters and vampires themself, only that the enemy vamps aren’t called vamp but Lesser.

I loved those Quinn and Blay from the moment they were first mentioned, back when we didn’t even knew what their orientation was. So because of that reason I had to read this book, no matter what.

But I am kind of disappointed. Ok, who am I kidding, I’m really disappointed. I just didn’t like their story. I can’t really name the problem I had. It’s just that this wasn’t it for me.

Also maybe I should tell you this as well: I skipped all scenes that had absolutely nothing to do with Quinn and Blay, because like I said before I lost interest in the story.

And I won’t be reading the next book in the series, I just wanted to know how Quinn and Blay’s HEA will be achieved.

Rating: 3,5 stars

Leave a comment <3

