Interview with S. Usher Evans, author of Empath

1. Tell us something about your latest book. Is it your debut? What genre does it belong to? EmpathCover

My latest book is called Empath and it’s about a modern day woman with some not-so modern problems. Stuck in post break-up hell, she hears a mysterious voice promising an easy escape to her problems. Suddenly, she finds herself in a fantasy world and now has the power to feel what others are feeling with the touch of her hand. Just one problem: there’s a dragon in the mountains above the village that might want to eat her. And it might also be the source of that mysterious voice tempting her deeper into her own darkness.

Empath is my third book, but my first foray into the fantasy genre (so far). My other novels are space operas

2. Is your book part of a series or can it be read as a stand-alone?

God help me if Empath gets a sequel. Writing it was one of the most emotionally draining, anxiety-triggering events of my life.

3. When does your book release?

Empath came out in May, but I’m just about ready to release the hard cover edition in the next few weeks.

4. Which character of your book was the hardest to write?

Lauren is basically all of the worst parts of me. My avoidance, my hateful internal monologue, my anxiety, my loneliness, all of that got rolled into one character. To boot, I gave her all of the reminders of my past, so much so that when the dragon forces her to relive her worst memory, it’s actually my own. Writing all of that was tough, but I couldn’t be prouder of how this book came out.

5. If you’re not writing, what do you love to do?

I love netflixing on the couch with my two dogs, Zoe and Mr. Biscuit! I also do a fair bit of home renovation and decoration, but since completing my new house a few weeks ago, I’m burnt out.

6. Did anyone inspire you to start writing or did you always knew you just had to write?

I’ve been writing since I was a baby, since I come from a long line of storytellers. My biggest influence is Our Lady of Scotland, Jo Rowling. I read Harry Potter about once a month between ages thirteen through seventeen while I was waiting for the next book to come out.

7. Any advice/tips for newbies?

Own the title of writer—not aspiring. If you’ve put something on paper, then by definition, you are a writer. And make sure that when you start down the publication path, you know exactly what you want to get out of it.

8. Are you already writing a new book? Can you tell us a little bit about it?

Oh Lord. Which one?

Besides Razia book #4 (which comes out mid-Feb of next year) and also writing sequel to The Island (that’s my romance), I’ve started work on a YA contemporary fantasy novel about a girl who discovers she has magic—and that’s just the beginning of stuff she unravels. It’s a book that I’ve been tweaking since I was fourteen, and I finally think I’m at a point where I can do it justice. If all goes according to plan, expect it in October of next year.

9. A word that you use way too often? (Mine are “quite” and “probably”)

Betas get on me for repetition (“you aren’t strong,” she said strongly.) and for using too many adverbs.

10. Last but not least: What’s your favourite type of candy, if you don’t mind me asking?

Salted. Caramel. Makes a girl go weak in the knees.

Author Bio  View More: http://ashleyvictoriaphotography.pass.us/whitneyevans

S. Usher Evans is an author, blogger, and witty banter aficionado. Born in Pensacola, Florida, she left the sleepy town behind for the fast-paced world of Washington, D.C.. There, she somehow landed jobs with BBC, Discovery Channel, and National Geographic Television before finally settling into a “real job” as an IT consultant. After a quarter life crisis at age 27, she decided consulting was for the birds and rekindled a childhood passion for writing novels. She sold everything she owned and moved back to Pensacola, where she currently resides with her two dogs, Zoe and Mr. Biscuit.

Evans is the author of the Razia series and Empath, both published by Sun’s Golden Ray Publishing.

Follow her on: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Tumblr

Purchase Empath on: Amazon | B&N | iBooks

Leave a comment <3

