Interview with Madeline Courtney, author of Abhorrence And Affection

1. Tell us something about your latest book. Is it your debut? What genre does it belong to? 12 Dollar Premade 15 Ebook

Abhorrence and Affection is my debut novel. It’s about a girl in regency England, forced to marry her childhood rivalry to save her family from their terrible debt… This, of course, causes a series of hilarious arguments and fights. With a shock ending, Abhorrence and Affection shows that sometimes life doesn’t always turn out the way you want it to, but that’s not always a bad thing.

2. Is your book part of a series or can it be read as a stand-alone?

Abhorrence and Affection is a stand alone novel in the Regency Romance genre.

3. When does your book release?

My book was released only a few weeks ago. You can read the first chapter for FREE here: http://w.tt/1PFDG6C

OR if you’d like to take a chance and buy the novel (on eBook)… You can do so here: http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B013J862H4?ie=UTF8&redirectFromSS=1&pc_redir=T1&noEncodingTag=1&fp=1

4. Which character of your book was the hardest to write?

Probably Beth, the main character, for the simple reason that she is everything I’m not. She’s loud, confident, opinionated. She’s everything I wish I could be… but she also has faults, like we all do, such as OVER confidence and sometimes she’s TOO opinionated. I have her say things I would never EVER think to say myself and for some reason this was difficult for me. I hope that make senses.

5. If you’re not writing, what do you love to do?

I love to go book shopping. I spend WAY too much money on books. (Who am I kidding? There’s no such thing as “spending to much money” on books).

6. Did anyone inspire you to start writing or did you always knew you just had to write?

Everyone is going to hate me when I say this, but…. Stephenie Meyer really inspired me to write.

7. Any advice/tips for newbies?

JUST WRITE. If the story you’re working on doesn’t want to be finished, move on to the next one. You’ll eventually find one that you can complete. Just because you haven’t found the one yet, doesn’t mean you WON’T find one. Keep writing.

8. Are you already writing a new book? Can you tell us a little bit about it?

I’m outlining my next novel now, THE CUPCAKE PROJECT. I don’t plan to start actually working on it until NaNoWriMo, so at the moment I’m just writing chapter summaries, character backgrounds, etc. I’m not much of a plotter/planner (I usually just let the story lead me around on a leash when writing), so this is something new to me. I think I’m liking plotting better, though.

It’s about a girl who decides to do a Pinterest Cupcake Challenge; making 600 cupcake recipes in 365 days. Her roommate, Jake, is unwillingly along for the ride. The genre is Chick Lit.

9. A word that you use way too often? (Mine are “quite” and “probably”)

“As if” and “very” are my weak spots. However, I wrote Abhorrence and Affection in the style of Jane Austen, so I could KIND OF get away with it then.

10. Last but not least: What’s your favourite type of candy, if you don’t mind me asking?

REESE’S!!!!!!!!

Author Bio avatar_1437599619598

Madeline Courtney is a newly discovered author. Her first book, Abhorrence and Affection, is doing exceptionally well for a debut (or so she thinks). She spends her time reading (her favorite author being Meg Cabot) and taking care of her ridiculously fat min pin, Aria Pond. Her next novel, The Cupcake Project, is currently in the works.

One thought on “Interview with Madeline Courtney, author of Abhorrence And Affection

Leave a comment <3

