Interview with Jesi Lea Ryan, author of Just A Little Nudge

1. Tell us something about your latest book. Is it your debut? What genre does it belong to? Just a Nudge - Ebook Large

Just a Little Nudge is the first in a paranormal romance series. It stands alone, but readers of my young adult, Arcadia, series, will notice that it takes place in the same world, with a couple of crossover characters. The story involves a psychic stripper who gets in over her head with a drug cartel.

2. When does your book release?

It is out now! Available at all the typical e-book retailers.

3. Which character of your book was the hardest to write?

J.C. Moreno. Marley’s voice appeared fully formed in my mind, but his didn’t. I had to work hard to get him on the page the way I wanted him. Usually writing male characters is easier for me, so I’m not sure what the issue was here. In the end, I think J.C. turned out great. Out of the five books I have published, this one is my favorite.

4. If you’re not writing, what do you love to do?

Most of my life revolves around books. I read over 250 books a year, in many different genres. I have a pretty large audio book addiction, which is tough, because audio books are more expensive than e-books or even paper. It’s great that the public library now has audio books!

I also love to learn. I will take a random subject and research everything there is to know about it. I love history and geography. British history is my favorite, but I have been known to fall down many different rabbit holes. I am a really good person to have on your team in Trivial Pursuit.

5. Did anyone inspire you to start writing or did you always knew you just had to write?

I started as a reader, and I can thank my mother for that. My mom is a big reader, and it was important to her that her kids be as well. I wouldn’t say she and I have a lot in common in general, but books have always been something we could bond over. Writing grew out of my love for reading. It felt like a natural progression.

6. Any advice/tips for newbies?

There are no short cuts. If you are not prepared to invest in yourself. It doesn’t matter how good your idea you can’t expect readers to take you seriously. Professional editing and cover art are a minimum. And take some creative writing classes. It doesn’t matter how good your idea is if you cannot get it across in a logical manner.

7. Are you already writing a new book? Can you tell us a little bit about it?

I have two projects going now. One I am doing on my own, and the other I am co-writing with a partner. I can’t talk too much about them, but they are both paranormal in nature. I have to say, writing with a partner is going fantastic! She and I really click. The book isn’t done yet, and already I am super proud of it.

8. A word that you use way too often? (Mine are “quite” and “probably”)

Oh, yeah. “Just.” There was some sort of Facebook app a few years back that analyzed your posts and created a word cloud based on what you have written. “Just” was the number one word on there. Ever since it was brought to my attention, the word jumps out at me. I’ve gone to great lengths to minimize its use.

9. Last but not least: What’s your favourite type of candy, if you don’t mind me asking?

I’m addicted to cough drops. I suck on them all the time. My favorite kind are Strepcils, and since they are not sold here in the U.S., I have to order them by the case from Canada. Black currant is my favorite.

Author Bio10689776_10204650986573879_418771040635568442_n 

Jesi Lea Ryan grew up in the Mississippi River town of Dubuque, IA. She holds bachelor degrees in creative writing and literature and a masters degree in business. She considers herself a well-rounded nerd who can spend hours on the internet researching things like British history, anthropology of ancient people, geography of random parts of the world, bad tattoos and the paranormal. She currently lives in Madison, WI with her husband and two exceptionally naughty kitties.

Links:

Stalk Jesi online at…

http://www.jesilea.com

Twitter

Facebook

Just a Little Nudge

Amazon US – http://www.amazon.com/Just-Little-Nudge-Jesi-Ryan-ebook/dp/B00RQUHL0O/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

Amazon UK – http://www.amazon.co.uk/Just-Little-Nudge-Jesi-Ryan-ebook/dp/B00RQUHL0O/ref=sr_1_5?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1441553918&sr=1-5&keywords=jesi+lea+ryan

iTunes – https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/just-a-little-nudge/id954582664?mt=11

Kobo – https://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/just-a-little-nudge

Nook: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/just-a-little-nudge-jesi-lea-ryan/1120981274?ean=2940046481228

One thought on “Interview with Jesi Lea Ryan, author of Just A Little Nudge

Leave a comment <3

