Interview with Cybele Loening, author of Dead Lies

1. Tell us something about your latest book. Is it your debut? What genre does it belong to? DeadLies_medium

This is my debut novel, a mystery called DEAD LIES. It’s about murder and family secrets in a wealthy town. It’s a page turning in that it has multiple mysteries running through the book at the same time with a rapid-fire layered reveal at the end.

2. Is your book part of a series or can it be read as a stand-alone?

This is the first book in the Anna Valentine Mystery Series, but it can definitely be read alone.

3. When does your book release?

This book is already out, but I just released the audio book version, which is available on Audible.com, Amazon and iTunes.

4. Which character of your book was the hardest to write?

None of the characters were hard to write, honestly! They kind of just revealed themselves to me naturally as I went along, and I felt totally comfortable with them, as if I’d known them forever. The hardest part of writing the book was learning the forensic and investigative details that make a detective novel believable. I interviewed cops and read criminal justice textbooks, so that helped.

5. If you’re not writing, what do you love to do?

When I’m not writing, I am passionately studying architecture and design. My twin sister is a design geek like me (who also owns a design and construction management company) and we often take trips together around New England to tour historic homes. We’re going on one this coming weekend to the Portsmouth, New Hampshire area. I also design floor plans and house elevations (basically a 1-D look at the various faces of a house) on graph paper. My husband and I just did a major renovation on our home, which we designed, but I hope to buy a piece of land and build a house from ground up someday.

6. Did anyone inspire you to start writing or did you always knew you just had to write?

No one inspired me to write, at least not anyone I knew. But I loved reading ever since I was a child and always wanted to be a writer because of that.

7. Any advice/tips for newbies?

Just write! I always tell people this. Don’t just think about writing, do it. Because otherwise you will only ever be that person who is thinking about writing a book and not actually writing it. Also think about it as if you know for certain this will become a published book one day. You have to think commercially and figure out why people would want to read it and how it will fit into the marketplace. That’s the difference between a “manuscript” and an actual book. The more seriously you treat your project the more real it will become. So treat it like you have a contract already. This will keep you focused. This strategy is not meant to put pressure on you, just motivate you to take your dream seriously. Because if you don’t take it seriously no one else will.

8. Are you already writing a new book? Can you tell us a little bit about it?

I am writing two new books: one is the next installment of the Anna Valentine Mystery Series. The other is a memoir. I can’t tell you much about it at the moment because I don’t want to spoil it for anyone who is interested in reading DEAD LIES. I borrowed several key themes from my own life for that book. But let’s just say I have quite a dramatic story and that ultimately the book is about overcoming obstacles in life and finding the courage to pursue your dreams. It’s not depressing at all, but a very triumphant story, and people who’ve read some early chapters say it’s fascinating.

 

9. A word that you use way too often? (Mine are “quite” and “probably”)

Ha! I love this question. My word is “really.” I’m constantly deleting it.

10. Last but not least: What’s your favourite type of candy, if you don’t mind me asking?

Peanut M&Ms or Snickers, it’s too hard to pick!

Author BioColorAuthorPhoto 

Cybele Loening spent 18 years working in Corporate America before giving up a successful career as a magazine editor to pursue a long-held dream she had of writing a book. Dead Lies is that book, and it is a symbol of the profound transformation she made in her life when she answered her soul’s calling to write.

A mystery lover since childhood when she devoured the Encyclopedia Brown and Nancy Drew series, these days Cybele is inspired by the work of such revered authors as Michael Connelly, Mary Higgins Clark, Harlan Coben, and James Lee Burke, in addition to many other fine novelists who have brightened her days with stories of murder, mayhem and intrigue.

Responding to the demand for more books starring the exciting new heroine Anna Valentine, Cybele is hard at work on the next book in the Anna Valentine Mystery Series. But she also has another mission: To inspire other women to pursue their dreams and live their best lives. It is this theme that will be the subject of an upcoming memoir.

Follow Cybele on Twitter | Goodreads

Official Website for Dead Lies: Deadliesbook

(You can get the first three chapters there)

One thought on “Interview with Cybele Loening, author of Dead Lies

Leave a comment <3

