Interview with Miriam Pia, author of The Double Life of Tutweiler Buckhead

1. Tell us something about your latest book.

http://sbpra.com/miriampia/ The Double Life of Tutweiler Buckhead is an urban crime fiction novel. This is my debut novel. It is about a mysterious white collar criminal suspected of holding a respectable day job while also being a drug king pin in the big city of Indianapolis, Indiana. For those who do not know, Indianapolis is a big city but is ‘quaint’ and ‘town like’ compared to the Megalopolis of NYC, Chicago, London England etc..

The novel is great for those who love strong plot lines with vivid characterization. If you love to know what the characters are thinking, this novel is definitely for you. If you like the traditional presentations of good and evil ala the Hollywood movies, you will also love this story. This novel is also excellent for those who enjoyed the combination of brain work and leg work ala Sherlock Holmes but who also like the crime tV shows in which teams are more important than any individual character. Like many of you I have worked in real world offices that have posters of the slogan: TEAM – together each achieves more. The characters and plot reflect that kind of wisdom and sensibility.

2. Is your book part of a series or can it be read as a stand-alone?

At present the novel is a stand alone item, but a strong reaction by a large enough fan base could change that. I have authored other works like a nonfiction self help philosophy booklet, and intend to release a series of science fiction novels in the future.

3. When does your book release?

It came out earlier this year. You can buy it here: http://sbpra.com/miriampia/

4. Which character of your book was the hardest to write?

Thomas. You have to read the novel to find out why.

5. If you’re not writing, what do you love to do?

Oh, that depends on multiple factors. I am effected by how much money I have, what location I am in and who I am with. Some years it is about walking in the woods or riding bikes. I have painted so much that I decorate my own residence with framed paintings I made myself. I have dabbled in music. I like museums. I played fantasy role play games. I searched for games that my son and I could do together for about 18 years, and did a lot due to that. I like some travel and the theatre. Sometimes just chatting or learning online or reading books is enough. I have also worked other jobs – like most authors, and sometimes I even like my work. I even have experience doing volunteer work – sometimes officially in a group and other times just as a lone individual.

6. Did anyone inspire you to start writing or did you always knew you just had to write?

Like Jesi Lea Ryan told you in her interview: I read a lot as a child and sort of grew into it as a natural progression. We are quite different but we are both born 13 January and are American women novelists. I don’t have a naughty cat, tee hee. Seriously though, I read avidly as a child. My mother always encouraged me to write but I think she may have felt embarrassed when I did it so much as an adult but am not rich from it yet, nor famous.

7. Any advice/tips for newbies?

If you thought it would be easier than just getting a day job I’ll tell you right now, that it isn’t.

8. Are you already writing a new book? Can you tell us a little bit about it?

I have two complete drafts of more right now. The second one may get divided into two and filled out with more detail. If that happens then what I have is that science fiction novel series I mentioned earlier. I aim to get the first one out later this year or in 2016 at the latest. Maybe all them in 2016 or 2016 & 2017.

Eventually, I hope to write other nonfiction books as well, including at least a little more philosophy.

9. A word that you use way too often? (Mine are “quite” and “probably”)

I don’t know, but I can tell you that I have a tendency to complain a lot. I complain more when something in my life is really bothering me but I think that even if and when my life became perfect I would have weird moments in which I felt like I had lost something because I had no real reason to complain.

10. Since you told me that you live in Germany as well, what’s your favourite german phrase/word/saying?

Moin.

11. Last but not least: What’s your favourite type of candy, if you don’t mind me asking?

These days chocolate but don’t expect it to be that way all the time.

Author Bio:

Writer’s Bureau Certified in Creative Writing 2005, Middlesex U. PD/MA offered 1999 Modern European Philosophy, 4 MBA courses 2009, German Integration Course KVHS 2011, Intermediate German Zertifikats 2013, 2011.
47 Year old American woman who defies gender laws by giving her real name despite being a woman. This is acceptable in Germany but not in the USA. (That’s a 1/2 true joke, by the way). She is the mother of a binational American & German. She has written professionally for over 10 years but has worked to become a professional writer and author for more like 35 of her 47 years. There’s an international feeling: she has lived in the USA most of her life and loves her country but believes in ‘broad mindedness’ and has had ‘foreign friends’ and spent 5 years living in England and now is in the beginning of a 6th year of living in Germany.

One thought on “Interview with Miriam Pia, author of The Double Life of Tutweiler Buckhead

Leave a comment <3

