[Review] Passion Ignites by Donna Grant

~ Passion Ignites by Donna Grant ~

(Dark Kings #7)
Genre:
Paranormal, Romance
Date of Publication:
November 3rd 2015 by St. Martin’s Paperbacks
Source:
NetGalley

                          goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

 

Synopsis:

He consumed her with that kiss, leaving no question that whatever was happening between them was meant to be—that it had always been meant to be…

HE LOVES FOR ETERNITY

Thorn is the bad boy of the Dragon Kings, a gorgeous, reckless warrior whose passions run wild and fury knows no bounds. When he sees the brave, beautiful Lexi being lured into the Dark Fae’s trap, he has no choice but to rescue her from a fate worse than death. But by saving this tempting mortal, he exposes himself to his fiercest enemy—and darkest desires. As the war between Dragons and Fae heats up, so does the passion between Lexi and Thorn. And when love is a battlefield, the heart takes no prisoners…

SHE LIVES FOR VENGEANCE

Lexi is on a mission of justice. Every day, she searches for the monster who murdered her friend. Every night, she hides in the shadows and plots her revenge. But the man she seeks is more dangerous than she ever imagined. He is one of the Dark Fae who preys on human life, who uses his unearthly power to seduce the innocent, and who is setting a trap just for her. Nothing can save Lexi from a creature like this—except the one man who’s been watching her every move…

~ My Review ~

~ Book provided by NetGalley and publisher in exchange for my honest opinion

Passion Ignites surprised me a lot. Why? Well… because

(1) I was invited by the publisher over at NetGalley to read this and I immediately liked the synopsis, hit the button to accept the invite… then I looked it up on Goodreads and found out it was the seventh in a series. I thought to myself: “Fabulous, just my luck. Once again I’m stuck reading a book that I won’t understand. I should really start to check that little detail before accepting.” But you know what? I was totally able to understand the main story (not so much the background story with Rhi, but whatever) and I’m so glad about that.

(2) this book totally reminds me of the early books of Katie McAlister’s Dark Ones series – in a good way! – not regarding the story, because those are totally different, but regarding the feelings I had while reading this. I was entertained by the cast  and the story. What more do I want?

(3) I really liked Thorn and Lexi. Lexi for trying to find justice *cough* vengeance *cough* for her friend and Thorn for trying to keep Lexi out of things. He even gave her up for her sake.

While I liked the book in general and will definitely start reading the series – from the beginning 😉 – there were some teeny tiny things I didn’t like that much.

One point I already did mention and that was that I didn’t really understand the background story with Rhi and all those other characters. But that’s more my fault and not the books, so I won’t pay attention to that in my rating.

The point that did take a part in my rating though, was the fact that the ending felt totally rushed. I just felt like the story was still in the middle of everything, but the author was running out of pages, so she had to wrap things up fast. Maybe that’s only how it appeared to me though.

Rating: 4 stars

One thought on “[Review] Passion Ignites by Donna Grant

Leave a comment <3

