[Review] Soul-Mate by Anna Santos

~ Soul Mate by Anna Santos ~

(Immortal Love Series #1)
Genre: Paranormal, Romance
Date of Publication:
October 13th 2015 by Booktrope
Source: Author

                    goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

 

Synopsis:

Annabel is a bad-ass hybrid hunter, seeking revenge from the vampire who killed her parents and put her brother in a coma. Arriving in a new town with an undercover identity to protect and the mission to find a pureblood vampire to save her brother’s life, the last thing Annabel needs is to fall in love with the sexy, persistent werewolf who thinks she’s a helpless human in need of a knight in shining armor.

Shane is a dominant werewolf who also happens to be the local sheriff. He has almost lost hope of finding his better half. So when his beautiful soul-mate shows up and rogue vampires try to kill her, he does what any smart wolf would do: he saves her and takes her home, hoping to convince her that they belong together.

When sparks fly between them, Annabel has to decide if she tells him who she really is or runs the other way to protect her secrets.

~ My Review ~

~ Book provided by Anna Santos in exchange for my honest opinion

I must admit I have some mixed feelings for Soul-Mate. It’s not that I didn’t like it, but it had some stuff that made reading it harder than it had to be.

First off, I knew going into reading it, that Soul-Mate would totally and absolutely have a lust- and love-at-first-sight theme. I’m not a big fan of that, but since the synopsis pretty  much screamed insta-lust, I won’t consider it in my review. This is just meant as a little heads-up. You don’t like insta-lust/love, then don’t read this.

Now on to my actual review.

While I liked the over-all story, I have to say that in the first 35% pretty much nothing happened. They were just constantly having sex. After that 35% the story developed a little bit and actually started to get a plot. BUT I feel like this book would have worked better if it would have been a little shorter, since it dragged quite a bit and I found myself skimmed some pages.

The characters weren’t really my type of people either. They were all nicely written and Shane and Anna had some chemistry, but still… they didn’t make me love them as much as I hoped they would. They were just average, nothing really special about them.

Then there was this one scene with the bad guys and Beth and Marie, who are sisters, but I didn’t really get the necessarity of that scene and the introducing Beth and Marie as characters. They didn’t appear before that scene, right? If they did indeed, then I guess I just forgot about them as soon as the scene with them was over. Anyway, that scene did nothing for the story in my opinion. It just made me confuse.

The end fight was fun and the ending itself was cute, with Anna’s brother being awake again, but still… I’m not sure if I will be reading the next book. It will probably be about Jason, Anna’s cousin and Sasha, Anna’s whatwasit again? I’m kind of confused about who is whose cousin, aunt, uncle and all.

Anyway give it a try if you like the synopsis. For me it was just average and I hate to say that.

Rating: 2,75 stars,

Leave a comment <3

