[Review] Witches Be Burned by Stacey Kennedy

~ Witches Be Burned by Stacey Kennedy ~

(Magic & Mayhem #2)
Genre: Paranormal, Romance
Date of Publication: May 19th 2015 by Loveswept
Source: NetGalley

               goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

 

Synopsis:

In Stacey Kennedy’s steamy paranormal romance novel, a rookie guardian sworn to combat the undead risks life and love in a world of violence, witchcraft, and seduction.

Nexi Jones has lost her family, she’s been stripped of her guardian duties, and she’s still learning the ins and outs of white magic. At least she has Kyden, the smoldering hot elite guardian who’s been there for her every step of the way. But just as Nexi completes her training, tragedy strikes the Otherworld when a fellow guardian is murdered by a group of rogue vampires. Ready or not, she and Kyden trek into the Earthworld to hunt down a killer—and Nexi alone will be put to the ultimate test.

Although Kyden knows that Nexi must fight her own battles, his guardian instincts are raging as he struggles to keep her close. The ruthlessness of these vampires is like nothing he’s ever seen. And at their helm is the Black Witch Astoria, a demon with one burning desire: to shed Nexi’s blood in the name of vengeance. What troubles Kyden even more, though, is the warlock who covets Nexi’s heart. Let the devil do his worst . . . all Kyden can do is love and protect Nexi until his last breath.

~ My Review ~

I have not read the first book of the series Werewolves Be Damned, which was one of the reasons why it took me so long to finally pick Witches Be Burned up. Another reason was that I’m not a big fan of books that include witches. Never been, never will.

That said I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. Witches Be Burned was entertaining and the action scenes were pretty vivid.

Also I really liked the little prologue in the beginning, without it I would probably have been a lot more lost. It helped to give me a grip of what happened in the previous book.

Though I liked the action and the way Witches Be Burned was written, it couldn’t completely convince me. Why you ask? Well, Kayden and Nexi had no chemistry. I liked both of them individual, but they didn’t convince me of their love for each other. Also I expected there to be a bit more romance, but this book was more action with only a touch romance.

The end fight was quite interesting though and I would like to read the next book in the series.

Also don’t be fooled like I was, Witches Be Burned can be read as a stand-alone without any problems. Had I known that, I would have read this book a long time ago.

Recommened to urban fantasy lovers, that don’t want an in-debth love story.

Rating: 3,5 stars

Leave a comment <3

