[Review] Devious Minds by Colleen Helme

~ Devious Minds by Colleen Helme ~

(Shelby Nichols #8)
Genre: Mystery, Humour
Date of Publication: January 29th 2016
Source: Author

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

 

Synopsis:

It’s been almost a year since a near-fatal gunshot wound left Shelby Nichols with the ability to read minds. In that time she’s faced one problem after another. She’s been shot at, framed for murder, and targeted by a serial killer, just to name a few. Now she’s trying to help her lawyer husband win a murder trial that will enable him to become a partner in his law firm. Sounds easy, right? But nothing ever goes as planned when it comes to Shelby Nichols.

When special agent, Blake Beauchaine, shows up to collect a debt from Shelby, things get even more complicated, and Shelby is soon on her way to Paris. A routine meeting with a rogue agent reveals a sinister plot, putting Shelby into the cross-hairs of a known terrorist. Even worse, she doesn’t speak French, so it seems her mind-reading abilities won’t help her this time.

Things go from bad to downright dangerous for Shelby, especially since her usual guardians, Uncle Joey, and his hit-man, Ramos, are back in the states. Lost and on her own in the streets of Paris, can Shelby escape the cold-blooded killer in time to stop his devious plans, or will this be the end of the line for Shelby Nichols?

~ My Review ~

I found this series years ago – through pure accident. The first one, Carrots, was for free on Amazon and I really liked the cover and since I am one of those people that buy books in regard of the cover, I one-clicked it.

Devious Minds was as good as all the previous books. I really enjoyed reading another adventure of Shelby.

I don’t know how one woman can have so much bad luck, but Shelby definitely has it, which causes a lot of hilarious situations. Even eight books into the series and I still love Shelby and her mind reading ability as much as I did in the first book.

I also love the progress Shelby made in all of her relationship. Chris, Shelby’s husband, is the most appreciative husband in the world and both he and Shelby are totally in sync. I want to have a Chris myself.

Then there is Ramos. When I read the synopsis, I was like: What? No Ramos?! NOOOOOOO!! How can you do that to me, Colleen?….But fear no more, we get Ramos, a lot of Ramos! *crazy girl giggle*

Anyway, he and Shelby are really good friends, but with a lot of sexual tension underneath. Both won’t act on it though, because Shelby loves her husband and Ramos doesn’t want to destroy the good thing Shelby has with her husband. He is really cute in that way.

I could go on about Ramos for ages, but I won’t. Read the series and you will see why I kind of have a crush on him.

Anyway, let’s move on.

Devious Minds is set in Paris, France, and it really, really made me want to visit Paris. All the awesome descriptions of all the sights… One day, I will visit Paris. I’m only 4 hours away. I will totally make that trip.

I loved that Shelby had some struggles to use her mind reading because of the whole language barrier thing and she didn’t spontanously develop the ability to understand french perfectly. No, Shelby had to work and come up with a plan to make the whole thing work.

Another thing I really liked about Devious Minds was the cover. Normally I don’t mention the cover of a book in my reviews, but this cover is beautiful. The yellow dress really pops out and I also liked that it made an appearence in the book.

I said it once and I will say it again, but this series had everything that I always missed in the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich. The Shelby Nichols series is entertaining and always leaves me with a smile in the end, as was and did Devious Minds.

I can’t wait for the next installment of the series. I need to find out what kind of trouble Shelby gets in next, since she is a magnet for trouble.

Rating: 4,25 stars

Leave a comment <3

