Interview with R.K. Gold, author of Just Under The Sky

1. Tell us something about your latest book. Is it your debut? What genre does it belong to?1907526_809548675801557_2744477800293039157_n

My latest book Just Under the Sky is a short little novella I wrote when I was still living in Montana. My publisher and I categorize it as magical realism but it definitely floats in the realm of fantasy a couple of times, at least the supernatural. It is my debut work so no matter what it will always be one of my most meaningful pieces. It has received a little praise as well as an award for its many layers. There’s definitely a small messages but by far the most important aspect of the book was that it was an entertaining plot to read.

2. Is your book part of a series or can it be read as a stand-alone?

It’s funny you ask that. I have received quite a few emails and a few messages over various social media platforms asking me to write a prequel. As it is now the book is just standalone but I do have a few ideas to tie it together with some other work and expand the universe.

3. When did your book release?

It came out October 2, 2015. My next book Brinwood is another novella and that comes out in the spring. I swear I don’t just write novellas they just happen to be my most polished work at the moment.

4. Which character of your book was the hardest to write?

For Just Under the Sky the hardest character to write was Zimriah because he completely destroyed everything Jasper had ever been taught about the forest. After living an entire life being told one thing, it can crippling to learn you’ve always been wrong.

5. If you’re not writing, what do you love to do?

Hmm, I love to go to the movies and take my dog for a long walks through the city. And I also try to read about 60 pages a day not including the news. I also like to talk to my dog like he’s Simba from the lion King. I am also a huge wrestling fan. I love the WWE and recently started watching this new program called Lucha Underground.

6. Did anyone inspire you to start writing or did you always knew you just had to write?

Honestly, writing and I have had a weird relationship because I’ve always loved it but it took me 22 years to realize it’s something I should actually pursue. I don’t think I ever would’ve gotten there if it weren’t for two teachers I had in high school. Dr. Sutherland and Mr. Desautels really helped me discover that writing is not something completely unattainable. For every Stephen King or John Grisham there are thousands of individuals earning a living off their books alone without the name recognition. All you have to do is put in the work.

7. Any advice/tips for newbies?

Google is your best friend. Whenever you have a question type it in and you will most likely find an answer. Also read and write daily.

8. Are you already writing a new book? Can you tell us a little bit about it?

Shoot, I have 9 manuscripts done all in different stages of editing. 2016 is the year I sit down and actually polish the work I have in the vault instead of just writing more. I started writing novels in February 2014 and whenever I got like a quarter of the way into edits I would just procrastinate and start writing a new book instead.

9. A word that you use way too often? (Mine are “quite” and “probably”)

Beyond. I use beyond all the time. So at night I say I am beyond tired while I’m cooking I say I am beyond hungry when I am going on a date with my girlfriend I say I am beyond excited.

10. Last but not least: What’s your favourite type of candy, if you don’t mind me asking?

Sugar: sour patch kids
Chocolate: Reeses

Author Bio:2237d0_647d61b6915146379aa2801f97507228.jpg_srz_p_350_414_75_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_jpg_srz

R.K. Gold is an award winning novelist from Buffalo, NY. He graduated from the University of Maryland in 2014 with a bachelors degree in English. When he is not writing he is either walking his plott hound Logan or eating his bodyweight in popcorn at the movie theatre.

Leave a comment <3

