[Review] Marked In Flesh by Anne Bishop

~ Marked In Flesh by Anne Bishop ~

(The Others #4)
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Date of Publication: March 8th 2016 by Penguin/Roc
Source: NetGalley

                           goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

 

Synopsis:

For centuries, the Others and humans have lived side by side in uneasy peace. But when humankind oversteps its bounds, the Others will have to decide how much humanity they’re willing to tolerate—both within themselves and within their community…

Since the Others allied themselves with the cassandra sangue, the fragile yet powerful human blood prophets who were being exploited by their own kind, the delicate dynamic between humans and Others changed. Some, like Simon Wolfgard, wolf shifter and leader of the Lakeside Courtyard, and blood prophet Meg Corbyn, see the new, closer companionship as beneficial—both personally and practically.

But not everyone is convinced. A group of radical humans is seeking to usurp land through a series of violent attacks on the Others. What they don’t realize is that there are older and more dangerous forces than shifters and vampires protecting the land that belongs to the Others—and those forces are willing to do whatever is necessary to protect what is theirs…

~ My Review ~

It took me a while to make up my mind about this book, mainly because this book made me kind of angry.

I was expecting to see some Simon and Meg scenes, where they would finally get over their friendship type of relationship. Did I see it? NO!! In the end of the book is a little, little, LITTLE scence, where we see that maybe – and that’s a big MAYBE – something could happen in the next book, but just as I am happy that something is changing, the book ends.

Also I was pretty annoyed by how quickly the POV changed all the time. One moment it changed to Simon’s POV and you just adjusted to it and the scene just got interesting and WOOOSH, next POV – Adjustment – Gets interesting – WOOOSH… you get what I’m trying to say, right? I just couldn’t stay focused on the book because of the constant POV changes.

Then another issue I had was the because of the constant POV changing it was really hard to read this massive book. It has 416 pages according to Goodreads and it dragged quite a lot.

Don’t get me wrong while all my previous mentioned things were negative, I still liked Marked In Flesh and I will definitely read the next (and last?) book of the series, because I want to know how the story goes on, but I still feel like this could have been a lot shorter and more organized. I always feel totally confused after reading a book in this series. Why the thousand of different POVs? Seriously? I would have been ok with just Simon’s and Meg’s point-of-view, but no… not happening.

Rating: 3,5-ish stars

Leave a comment <3

