[Review] The Consequence Of Loving Colton by Rachel Van Dyken

~ The Consequence Of Loving Colton by Rachel Van Dyken ~

(Consequence #1)
Genre: Fiction, New Adult, Romance
Date of Publication: April 21st 2015 by Skyscape
Source: Bought

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

 

Synopsis:

My name is Milo Caro and I have a confession to make.

I’ve been in love with Colton Mathews since I was five. He should have known that sharing a cookie with a sugar obsessed little monster would do the trick–it sealed his fate. So really, the fact that he’s sporting a black eye, a limp, almost got ran over by a car, and was nearly responsible for another person’s death? Right. HIs fault. Not mine.

I made a pact with myself–this weekend would be different. I’d come home for my brothers wedding, smile, and Colton would naturally melt into my arms, we’d get married have five kids, live in a house by the river, and get a dog named scratch (clearly I’ve thought this through).

What really happened? I punched my brother in the face, Colton kissed me and apologized, I lied about having a boyfriend, oh and everyone wants to meet the mystery man.

They say laughter always comes before insanity–ha, ha. All I wanted was my brother’s best friend…instead I’m sitting in prison.

Let this be a lesson to you all…life rarely happens the way you want it to.

Damn cookie.

~ My Review ~

I don’t really know what I excepted when I picked up this book, but definitely never this. It was freaking hilarious! I laughed nonstop. Should you decided to pick it up, I recommend reading it somewhere private and not on a train or on the bus or something else public. You will earn a lot of weird looks.

Three things made this book particularly hilarious. (There are a lot of other things, but I though I will just name three)

  1. The chaos and I mean the good type of chaos. You never will be able to predict what will happen next. You think you know what’s gonna happen, but believe me, it won’t. It will something entirely different. And it will make you think “why didn’t I think of this. It’s freaking hilarious.”
  2. MAX was the most hilarious character I have read about in a long time. He is “just” the main characters best friend, but I think without him the book would only be half as funny. He was the comic relief and the greatest best friend anyone could ever wish for.
  3. Jason and his accidents, most of them were caused by Milo, but the poor guy has so much bad luck. I don’t know how he is still alive and was not run over by a car with all that happened.

What I also loved were the characters in general. Milo, the heroine, was awesome and ready to do anything to win Colton, even pretend to be in a fake engagement with Max. Colton, the hero, was a pretty awesome guy and quite struggled with his love for Milo.I totally shipped those two together. What I loved about them as well was that they needed until 93% of the book to finally have sex. That’s quite rare in romance books these days.

I also feel like this book did not only have two main characters, even though the book was nearly only told from Milo’s and Colton’s POV. No, Jason, Max and Reid were also the main characters and I am happy to say that they also will each get a book of their own.

But let’s not forget the side characters. They added their flair to the story, too, especially the grandmother. I loved her. She was utterly and totally crazy and I quite traumatized Reid. #ishipit

This book was gold and I can’t say that I regret reading it, because I absolutely don’t. I loved every second of it and I’m quite sad that I’m such a fast reader. It was over way too quickly.

If you like ridiculous, hilarious, not to serious books, give this one a try and I hope you will end up laughing and loving it as much as I did.

Rating: 4,5 stars

P.S. It’s just 99 cents on the german Amazon, so I guess it won’t be a lot more on the other amazons.

One of my favourite scenes:
~ Max and Milo talking about Colton. ~
Max:”Eye of the Tiger.”
“The song?”
“The focus comes from the song.” He snapped his fingers. “Now, who’s the tiger?”
“Colton?”
“Good!” He patted my cheek. “Now, I want you to envision a doughnut.”
“What-”
“Envision the doughnut, damn it!”
“What flavor?”
“Does is matter?” He sounded irritated.
“To me it does!”
“Chocolate. You’re a chocolate doughnut.”
“Got it”
“Now,” Max whispered. “Become the doughnut.”
“Huh?”
“Speaking English here. Become the dougnut.”
“I’m a… chocolate doughnut … I taste … good?”
“Sell it!”
“I taste awesome!”
“There you go!” He slapped my butt. “Now when you walk in there, be the delicious chocolate doughnut all right? You taste good to him, you smell good, you look good. Be. The. Doughnut.”

Leave a comment <3

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.