[Review] Shut Out by Kelly Jamieson

~ Shut Out by Kelly Jamieson ~

(Bayard Hockey #1)
Genre: Fiction, New Adult
Date of Publication: June 7th 2016 by Loveswept
Source: NetGalley

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

 

Synopsis:

From the bestselling author of the Heller Brothers Hockey series comes the first novel of a new hockey romance series featuring a college team whose players are heating things up both on and off the ice.

The Bayard College hockey team isn’t where Jacob Flass thought he’d be a season ago. He was a rising star in the Canadian major junior league, cruising toward a spot on an NHL roster—until a single disastrous night on the town brought it all crashing down. Now he’s out of options, except for playing well, studying hard, and staying away from girls. He’s not supposed to be flirting with the hottest, sweetest chick he’s ever met. But how could he possibly stay away?

Skylar Lynwood knows that Jacob is out of her league. She’s just trying to go with the flow, which isn’t easy when six feet and four inches of total hockey hunkiness is making a play for her one moment, then giving her the cold shoulder the next. Skylar’s head tells her that this rugged athlete isn’t worth her time, but her body says something altogether different. Risking her heart for Jacob may be the craziest thing she’s ever done . . . but she won’t let him shut her out.

~ My Review ~

~ Book provided by NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion

Shut Out was my first book by Kelly Jamieson. After reading and liking it, I looked up other books by her and to my surprise had to discover that I already own her Heller Brothers box-set on my Kindle. Yay, me!

To be quite honest, I really didn’t know what Shut Out was about when I started it, because all I could remember about the blurb was that it was about icehockey (big plus) and New Adult (also big plus). I’m one of those people that forget blurbs immediately and am always surprised about the direction a book takes.

While I have to admit that Shut Out couldn’t quite reach my favourite icehockey NA-book The Deal by Elle Kennedy, it is a close second.

What I really liked about Shut Out was that Kelly Jamieson did her homework. She actually knows what she’s talking about when she mentions hockey in her books. That’s not something I take for granted. A few month back I read a book, also about ice hockey, and my poor lovely sport was butchered. So I’m always grateful when an author actually knows the sport they are talking about.

Anyway, on to the characters. I really liked Jacob, he was cocky, but also quite grown up. He genuily cared for what happened around him and he tries to correct his mistakes of the past.

Skylar, on the other hand, I liked as well, but she felt a little felt flat to me. I really don’t know why. I just felt like she was a little boring sometimes. Not that I’m more interesting, I just thought she should be as equally interesting as Jacob.

Both our main characters had a big bad event taken place in the past, which I didn’t find out till about 70%. Sometimes I think that’s the right to go that way in a book, sometimes I don’t. In Shut Out I felt like it should have been better if I would have known about it earlier, but it still worked out well. It’s just a personal preference.

What I also really liked was Kelly Jamieson’s writing style. It was really easy to read and the pages flew by. Her writing style also reminded me of Elle Kennedy and I mean that in a totally good way!

Shut Out was an interesting NA book, about hockey and some serious content, which was elaborated in a thoroughly way. So if that’s something you think you could enjoy, I am recommending it to you without a single regret.

Rating: 4,5 stars

2 thoughts on “[Review] Shut Out by Kelly Jamieson

Leave a comment <3

