[Review] Shadow Bloodlines by Andrea R. Cooper

About the book

Shadow Bloodlines
(Shadow Bloodlines #1)
by Andrea R. Cooper

ebook, 263 pages
Publication Date: April 30th 2016
ASIN: B01E4MAA90

 

I didn’t know I was a shifter until the hunters found me…

When eighteen-year-old Beth receives a mysterious text from her deadbeat father not to go to school, why should she listen to him now? But when strangers show up in one of her classes hunting her and wanting her dead, she must uncover the truth about why and what exactly she is.

Amar has been entombed in stone for centuries. He longs for freedom and only the blood of a shifter will set him free. After centuries frozen as a gargoyle, he doubts there are many of his kind left. Yet, Beth rescues him and more than his responsibility to protect her fills him. He must choose between duty and love.

Before the race of hunters capture her, Beth and Amar must find her shifter dad in order to save all their lives.

f6c05-goodreads-buttonreview

~ Book provided by YA Bound Book Tours in exchange for my honest opinion

I have to confess I started this book with pretty low exceptations, not because I wanted it to be bad, but I had a few bad YA reads in the last time.

So imagine my surprise about how hooked to the pages I was. The only thing stopping me from reading it in one sitting, was how tired I was after work, otherwise I would have breathed this in.

When I started reading the blurb my mood-barometer was at “bored”, but then I stumbled about that the word “gargoyle” and my mood-barometer switched to “interested”. So I decided to request and read it. In case you didn’t know I love when a paranormal book included gargoyles. I loved them ever since The Hunchback of Notre Dam.

And like I said, I really liked Shadow Bloodlines. Beth wasn’t a stupid bimbo and Amar was not perfect like every male YA character out there. They both actually had character. What I also liked was that Beth’ best friend was completely included in the happenings of the story. Not like in other stories where the best friend is left behind and forever forgotten.

The writing style was light, action-packed and easy to understand, for non-english people like myself 😉 The only word I had to look up was Badger. LOL.

I wouldn’t say no if I was asked to read and review the second book, but also if I wouldn’t be asked I would still get it, because I need to know how Beth’ journey will continue and I still want to know what her spirit animal is (I think that wasn’t mentioned in Shadow Bloodlines)

Rating: 4 stars
About the authorAndrea has always enjoyed creating characters and stories. But it wasn’t until she was in her late twenties that she started writing novels.

What happened that ignited the writing flame in her fingers? Divorced, and disillusioned by love songs and stories. They exaggerate. She thought. Love and Romance are not like that in the real world. Then she met her husband and realized, yes love and romance are exactly like the songs and stories say. She is now a happy wife, and a mom to three kids (two boys and a girl).

Once she heard about a writer who never let her characters deviate from the script. If they did, she just killed them. How sad, she thought. For her one of the best parts of being a writer is letting the characters have a mind of their own and seeing where the story takes them.

She loves this quote from Robert Frost, which sums up her opinion on allowing the characters their freedom: “No tears in the writer, no tears in the reader. No surprise in the writer, no surprise in the reader.”
― Robert Frost

Andrea writes fantasy, paranormal, and historical romance. When not writing or reading, one may find Andrea dancing in Zumba.

Leave a comment <3

