[Review] The Curse of the Tenth Grave by Darynda Jones

About the book

The Curse of the Tenth Grave
(Charley Davidson #10)
by Darynda Jones
ebook, 352 pages
St. Martin’s Griffin
Publication Date: June 28th 2016
ASIN: B0191K3GVY

As a Part-time PI and fulltime grim reaper, Charley Davidson has asked a lot of questions throughout her life: Why can I see dead people? Who is the hot supernatural entity following me? How do I get gum out of my sister’s hair before she wakes up? But, “How do I trap not one malevolent god, but three?” was never among them. Until now. And since those gods are on earth to kill her daughter, she has little choice but to track them down, trap them, and cast them from this dimension.

There’s just one problem. One of the three stole her heart a very long time ago. Can the Razer, a god of absolute death and destruction, change his omniscient spots, or will his allegiances lie with his brothers?

Those are just a few of the questions Charley must answer, and quick. Add to that a homeless girl running for her life, an innocent man who’s been charged with murder, and a pendant made from god glass that has the entire supernatural world in an uproar, and Charley has her hands full. If she can manage to take care of the whole world-destroying-gods thing, we’re saved. If not, well…

f6c05-goodreads-buttonreview

~ Book provided by NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion

I don’t know how Darynda Jones does it, but even after nine Charley Davidson books, she still can crack me up with her newest installment.

Like always it was a lot of fun reading a book about our favourite grim reaper. I think I can relate so much to Charley, because she is just so ridiculous and so very human. She likes making fun of everything and doesn’t take shit seriously. I love her sarcasm and her come-backs. And the length she goes to protect her friends and husband. Charley rocks! I want that chick as a friend.

And Cookie. Can I have her? I want her as a friend to. She could bring me coffee and do stuff for me. Also she could be my rock as she is for Charley. I love her as much as Charley and without her this series just wouldn’t be right. She fits right in with Charley and her crazy. Also the idea with the Twister mat, just brilliant.

On to the story. The story takes place one week after what happened in The Dirt On Ninth Grave. Like always Charley had to handle multiple problems at the same time. She really knows how to multitask. And though I totally knew what happened in Charley’s main case before Charley did (can I just say: obvious), I totally did not see all the other stuff coming.

And that ending. How am I supposed to wait another year for book #11. I can’t. I need to know what will happen. To the character and the story. Yes to the question if The Curse Of The Tenth Grave ends on a cliffhanger, but only a mild one in my opinion.

Normally I hate long series but with the Charley Davidson series it doesn’t feel like “let’s milk the cash-cow” (I could name some authors now that are totally doing that), no, it actually feels like it was always supposed to be that long. Darynda Jones makes it work perfectly. Keep the books coming. I want more. 🙂

Actual rating: 4,5 stars
About the authorNYTimes and USA Today Bestselling Author Darynda Jones has won numerous awards for her work, including a prestigious RITA, a Golden Heart, and a Daphne du Maurier. As a born storyteller, she grew up spinning tales of dashing damsels and heroes in distress for any unfortunate soul who happened by, annoying man and beast alike. She currently has two series with St. Martin’s Press, the Charley Davidson Series and the Darklight Trilogy. Darynda lives in the Land of Enchantment, also known as New Mexico, with her husband of more than 25 years and two beautiful sons, the Mighty, Mighty Jones Boys.

Leave a comment <3

