[Review] Roommates by Hazel Kelly

About the book

Roommates
(Stand-Alone)
Hazel Kelly
366 pages, ebook
Publication date: May 31st 2016
ASIN: B01GGOOWJI

Ethan Fitzell has been avoiding his stepsister Jenny since their parents got married, but when she shows up at his apartment uninvited, he’s forced to face the fact that her absence has only made his heart grow fonder…

Jenny
I always liked him.

But when our parents got married, things got confused. As if being a teenager isn’t confusing enough.

All I knew was that the feelings I had for him weren’t okay.

I’ll never forget the anxiety I felt the night I ran into him at a party that had gotten out of control.

I saw him standing around with the popular kids as soon as I walked in the door.

And he saw me, too. He always saw me. It was talking to me that he avoided.

I watched his buddy spin an empty wine bottle on the butcher block while my friend Brandi rummaged in her oversized purse for the two bottles of hard lemonade her older sister gave us.

When the spinning bottle stopped, I realized everyone was staring at me.

“Looks like you’ve gotta kiss Jen,” some jock said to Ethan.

I felt the color drain from my face, taking the moisture in my mouth with it as a suffocating panic grew in my chest. I was going to be found out.

Ethan laughed it off. “Yeah, that’s not happening. She’s my sister.”

“Not really, though,” his buddy insisted.

The eruption of laughter and jeering sounds made the dim kitchen feel like a jungle full of predators, and I was sure my cheeks were going to burst into flames.

“Don’t be stupid,” Ethan said, tilting a can of beer over his mouth.

When his friend spun the bottle again, Ethan glanced back at me one more time and wiped the back of his hand across his lips.

I’ve been wondering what it would be like to kiss him ever since.

**Author’s note: This is a full-length, standalone romance novel with no cliffhanger and no cheating. It is intended for a mature audience and has an ending that will leave you smiling so hard it hurts.

review~ Book provided by the author in exchange for my honest opinion

I wanted to write this review right when I got home, but I got distracted by the Germany vs. North-Ireland game. Anyway, here it is 😉

Stepbrother romances are either a hit or a miss for me. Either they are too cliché-ridden and are only focusing on the sex scenes or they are sweet and actually focusing on the relationship. Roommates was the later.

I liked Roommates a lot. Both, Ethan and Jenny, were likeable characters and I loved how they encouraged each other to pursue their dreams. They were there for each other and i really liked their first kiss. I could nearly see the sparks between them. I also loved the struggle they had with their feelings for each other. I’m always not a big fan of stepsibling books where they are like “we are stepsiblings? Screw this. Let’s screw.” In Roommates they actually needed years – they knew each other since their teenage years – to finally find together. The whole story was pretty adorable and funny. And while some people might think that the first sex scene at 70% was a bit late, I thought it fit the story and the relationship development between Ethan and Jenny.

The writing style of Hazel Kelly was good as well, the only thing that was a bit annoying sometimes was that she wrote dialogue without any indication who was talking. And I got lost a few times in these dialogues, but that was probably my own fault. I had this craving for chocolate and had to put away my Kindle to get some, after coming back I forgot who talked last. My short-term memory is like a sieve, everything falls through 😉

I’m going to check out some of Hazel’s other books.

Rating: 3,75 stars

Leave a comment <3

