[Review] Mechanic by Alexa Riley

About the book

Mechanic
(Breeding #2)
Alexa Riley
ebook, 175 pages
Publication Date: November 6th 2015
ASIN: B017OZY752

Everything was fine until that innocent little rich girl walked into my garage. Since the second I laid my eyes on her, all I’ve wanted to do is get my dirty hands on her pure body.

There’s one minor obstacle standing in my way, but I’ve got a plan. All I’ve got to do is claim her, and she’ll be mine forever.

Warning: This book is over-the-top, insta-love. There’s nothing but steamy scenes, babies trying to be made, and an obsessed bearded alpha hero claiming a virgin who will be his forever. If you want it hot and dirty, this is it!

*whispers* There’s a sweet smutty surprise at the end!

reviewThis was my first Alexa Riley book and I won’t touch anymore of her books. Not even for money.

Let me tell you right now that I don’t like books about breeding, but I gave this one a chance anyway because a lot of my Goodreads friends like it and I thought that it couldn’t be that bad (also it was for free). Boy, was I wrong. I don’t even know how I finished it – or the little extra at the end. I have no idea how I made it through all of the 175 pages of Mechanic. It was so bad. I wish I could go to the past and knock some sense into my past self.

Warning: This book is over-the-top, insta-love. There’s nothing but steamy scenes, babies trying to be made, and an obsessed bearded alpha hero claiming a virgin who will be his forever.

The synopsis pretty much says what this book is about and though those things above favour into the factor of me ending up not liking it, those weren’t the main problems I had with Mechanic.

I had three even bigger problems. Can you believe it? I hated something more than it being a insta-love.

#1: Where the heck was the story? I know the synopsis says “nothing but steamy scenes”, but how about just a little bit of story? They have absolutely no ground to why they fall in love with each other, not even for an insta-love. I don’t understand their relationship.

#2: The first time they meet the hero clearly nearly rapes her. You can’t tell me otherwise! And after running out out from him, the heroine comes back around and just let’s him do what he wants. I can’t deal with so much stupidity.

#3: The hero Paine himself. He was not hot, not sexy or anything you can associate with those words. No, he was a jerk, dick, douchebag and as much other words you and I can think of. He didn’t care for…. what’shernameagain? *looks it up* Right, Penelope…. I did NOT like him nor her. Not one bit.

The only positive thing I can say about this book is that it’s quite short (thank god) and the sex scenes were kind of tolerable.

Rating: 1,5 stars

About the authorAlexa Riley is two sassy friends who got together and wrote some dirty books. They are both married moms of two who love football, donuts, and obsessed book heroes.

They specialize in insta-love, over-the-top, sweet, and cheesy love stories that don’t take all year to read. If you want something SAFE, short, and always with a happily ever after, then Alexa Riley is for you!

Leave a comment <3

