[Review] City Of Shadows by Pippa DaCosta

About the book

City Of Shadows
(London Fae #2)
by Pippa DaCosta

ebook, 236 pages
Bloomsbury Sparks
Publication Date: July 7th 2016
ASIN: B01BO8ZH68

Alina knows she is not real – the fae queen spun an evil web to create her – but she wants more than to spend her days feeding off humans’ energy to survive. She isn’t content to lose herself in the dangerously attractive Reign. She wants a life of her own making.

People are going missing from London’s streets. Convinced that the general of the Fae Authority is playing a part in their disappearance, Alina vows to help find them. She infiltrates the organisation and gets close to their strongest fighter. But while Samuel’s tormented soul and masterful touch stirs in Alina a feeling of being human again, her loyalty to Reign makes her Samuel’s enemy. Who should she trust?

This New Adult urban fantasy is packed with action and suspense and will have you yearning for more forbidden fae romance.

f6c05-goodreads-buttonreviewI requested this on NetGalley without knowing that this is book two in a series – the synopsis read like a stand-alone – and I had some bad luck with starting at the second book. So I was prepared for the worst, for not understanding anything, for being annoyed because I was too stupid to check first. Now imagine my surprise: I understood everything perfectly well. I had no problems with catching up because Pippa DaCosta recaps the previous things quite well and this did indeed read like a stand-alone.

Another thing I was quite surprised about: I actually liked the stupid fae in this book. And normally I hate everything fae-related. I still try fae books again and again and again, to find one I like.

And while I liked the fae theme, I did not like the characters. Maybe “not like” is too strong of an expression, it’s more like I couldn’t connect with any of them and I did not feel and see any chemistry between Alina and Samuel or heck even between Alina and Reign. There was no chemistry whatsoever.

I made it to 60% before I decided to quit. Not being able to connect to the characters made me not want to read this book. Also if I’m quite honest, I wasn’t really hooked to the story either, but that’s probably because I couldn’t relate to anyone.

Still, for me being able to understand it, though it’s book two, and it making it tolerable to read a fae themed book I will still give it:

Rating: 2 stars (but DNF)
About the authorBorn in Tonbridge, Kent in 1979, Pippa’s— “Wait a second. Let’s cut to the chase. I write kick-ass urban fantasy & sci-fi novels with conflicted characters, breathless action, and no-holds-barred dialogue. My books may not leave you feeling all fluffy and warm inside, but they will excite you. There will be plot-twists, angst, probably a few dead bodies, and very likely your favorite character will turn out to be the bad guy. Don’t say I didn’t warn you…”

Leave a comment <3

