[Review] Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine

About the book

Ink and Bone
(The Great Library #1)
by Rachel Caine

ebook, 352 pages
NAL
Publication Date: July 7th 2015
ASIN: B00OQS4BQQ

In an exhilarating new series, New York Times bestselling author Rachel Caine rewrites history, creating a dangerous world where the Great Library of Alexandria has survived the test of time.…

Ruthless and supremely powerful, the Great Library is now a presence in every major city, governing the flow of knowledge to the masses. Alchemy allows the Library to deliver the content of the greatest works of history instantly—but the personal ownership of books is expressly forbidden.

Jess Brightwell believes in the value of the Library, but the majority of his knowledge comes from illegal books obtained by his family, who are involved in the thriving black market. Jess has been sent to be his family’s spy, but his loyalties are tested in the final months of his training to enter the Library’s service.

When his friend inadvertently commits heresy by creating a device that could change the world, Jess discovers that those who control the Great Library believe that knowledge is more valuable than any human life—and soon both heretics and books will burn…

review~ Book provided by NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion

The premise of the book sounded interesting, because who doesn’t like a book about books, but once I opened the book and read the first few pages I knew that I wouldn’t be able to finish it. The writing style threw me of too much. Still I gave Ink And Bone a chance and made it till 20%, but I just couldn’t.

English isn’t my first language, but normally I don’t have as big problems as I had with Ink And Bone. I had to re-read so many lines and ended up still not understanding them. I don’t know why the author thought this writing style is the way to go. Or is this her regular writing style? I’ve only ever read her Morganville Vampire series, but I read the german translation, so I can’t really say anything about her writing style regarding other books.

What also bothered me, apart from the way the sentences where written, was the fact that this book had so much description… so freaking much. Pages after pages after pages. Give me a break. I want some freaking dialogue once in a while.

Also the main character Jess… couldn’t really connect with him.

I guess this book is a clear case of “it’s me, not you” since I’m not smart enough to understand it.

Love the cover though!

Rating: DNF

Tell me, did you read Ink And Bone? How where your experiences with it?

About the authorRachel Caine is a pen name of Roxanne Longstreet Conrad.

Roxanne Longstreet Conrad is the slightly insane (and very tired) author of a bunch of books, including paranormal fiction, mystery, suspense, science fiction, romance, and young adult novels. Oh, and she also writes short stories. And essays.

Leave a comment <3

